Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I guess I should have read how much chicken before making the marinade. It still worked out great because I only used about 2 lbs of chicken and marinated it in about half of the marinade then saved the other marinade to heat up and brush over the chicken while cooking. I then put some of the hot marinade over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Awesome. I Didn't serve over rice but next time will for sure. Made it per the recipe except for the onions. I didn't have any on hand so used onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This recipe was so delicious. Everyone loved it. I thought the marinade would be a little too salty at first but after laying the chicken on plain jasmine rice, it blended out perfectly! I loved the hint of spiciness. I baked the chicken instead of grilling it and it was still wonderful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I grew up in Makaha, HI, I have ate this on many occasions to say the least. Another way you can make this is by using the same ingredients as listed above. However; use 3 bottles of soy sauce (DO NOT use Kikkoman)Your first choice should be "Aloha Shoyu Sauce" and your second should be LaChoy, NEVER Kikkoman. Pour your soy sauce in a large pot and add all ingredients (including chicken). Add enough water to make sure all chicken can be covered (probably around 5 cups or so). Bring to a boil, then simmer for 2.5 hours (3 hours if you want the chicken falling off the bone). Serve over sticky white rice and add some of the soy sauce mixture for added flavor. You can play with the Hot spices and brown sugar to your liking. I usually add about 3 cups brown sugar and 1/4 of the red pepper and cayenne measurements, it will still be plenty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Loved it. The best chicken recipe ever........a little hot spicy for kids, so you might want to go a little lite on the red pepp flakes,and the cayenne. But still a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I used Lisa Thelen's advice and cooked it covered on the stove with half the sauce. I made a sauce with the other half ( thickened it with maizena).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieliseCanada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I loved this!! I'm big on ginger, so next time I'll add more, but otherwise, wonderful! Will definitely do again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Great on the grill! Marinate over night for the full flavor effect. A BBQ hit with everyone at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My family loves this recipe! Definitely has a kick but so yummy. If you like spicy food but can't handle a lot of spice, I suggest a subtle side dish like white rice or baked potatoe. I've also made with bone-in thighs and cut off the skin with my kitchen shears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States