Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Definitely one of my favourite chicken recipes on this site. We have made it and enjoyed it time and again. Make it just as the recipe says, no changes necessary! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara McKinley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was super tasty. My husband and sons couldn't get enough of it. It goes great with sticky white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boyz5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I have made this several times. I have used boneless and bone-in chicken thighs, and both taste great. I bake these on a broiler pan @ 375 degrees for about 30-40 mins. However, I would recommend basting the chicken with a pastry brush about every 10 mins, otherwise it can dry out. When marinating, remember to rotate the chicken half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by massoni5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly and it was pretty good. However, there are a few things I do differently now to make it more like the local shoyu chicken (I live in Hawaii). I omit the oregano, (or at least tone it down) Oregano does not seem to mix with the teri style taste. Also, I slow cook the chicken in the oven for at least an hour. It lets the meat absorb the flavor and makes it really soft and tender. Shoyu chicken is supposed to be slow cooked and not grilled. With the changes, my boyfriend says this chicken is "so ono!" Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katscan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Regardless of whether this is Hawaiian Teriyaki or Shoyu, it's still a great recipe and super super easy. It was way too cold to grill outside, so I pan cooked it in it's marinade about an hour on simmer until the sauce thickened as others had suggested. I can only imagine it would be even better grilled. Can get fairly spicy. Go easy on the optional pepper items if you're concerned about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
We love this recipe in our house! I use chicken breast and cook it in the oven during the winter months. It is my go to dish for company. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by itchcat
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Next time I will brush honey before grilling the chicken. It should add more favors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Awesome explosion of flavor. Followed the recipe exactly except I marinated the chicken in a roasting pan and baked it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kclawrence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
It's a great recipe. You can actually make chicken adobo, Filipino style chicken with these ingredients with addition of 1 cup vinegar, some water and bay leaves. Cook everything in a pot for 30 minutes and open the lid continue simmering until most liquid evaporates. It is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mr_meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Cut recipe in half since I only had 6 thighs, marinated overnight and grilled to perfection. Very nice taste, very easy to prepare using ingredients already on hand, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States