Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Very good. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made this in the oven. Didn't care for the oregano or the paprika (I used smoked). I would make this again (on the grill) omitting those two ingredients. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Delicious chicken recipe! I added a handful of star anise, shakes of Worcestershire sauce, tons of red pepper flakes and let it marinade for 3-4 hours. Before putting the boneless, skinless chicken inside, save some extra marinade to cook on the stove top with cornstarch to thicken it up. After grilling, pour the cooked sauce over rice and vegetables...and of course, the chicken. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelica Hebreo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Just tried this last night . My daughter asked me not to make this again as it was tooo good.She couldn't stop eating the chicken . Now she wants me to do chicken wings tonight the same way . Love the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShanOtown
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Made recipe exactly as directed except spicy items with children sharing. I saved some marinade and boiled with corn starch to add extra baste at end of grill time. I will marinade meat longer next time. Thinking a pork tenderloin would be good option. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I guess I should have read how much chicken before making the marinade. It still worked out great because I only used about 2 lbs of chicken and marinated it in about half of the marinade then saved the other marinade to heat up and brush over the chicken while cooking. I then put some of the hot marinade over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Awesome. I Didn't serve over rice but next time will for sure. Made it per the recipe except for the onions. I didn't have any on hand so used onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This recipe was so delicious. Everyone loved it. I thought the marinade would be a little too salty at first but after laying the chicken on plain jasmine rice, it blended out perfectly! I loved the hint of spiciness. I baked the chicken instead of grilling it and it was still wonderful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I grew up in Makaha, HI, I have ate this on many occasions to say the least. Another way you can make this is by using the same ingredients as listed above. However; use 3 bottles of soy sauce (DO NOT use Kikkoman)Your first choice should be "Aloha Shoyu Sauce" and your second should be LaChoy, NEVER Kikkoman. Pour your soy sauce in a large pot and add all ingredients (including chicken). Add enough water to make sure all chicken can be covered (probably around 5 cups or so). Bring to a boil, then simmer for 2.5 hours (3 hours if you want the chicken falling off the bone). Serve over sticky white rice and add some of the soy sauce mixture for added flavor. You can play with the Hot spices and brown sugar to your liking. I usually add about 3 cups brown sugar and 1/4 of the red pepper and cayenne measurements, it will still be plenty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States