Shortcut Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This recipe is awesome. I am a bit of a salt aholic so I doubled the salt. After tasting this the first time I decided I wanted to have this on hand. I made a bulk batch, here it is: (9 cups of bean flour, 3 TBSP salt(I used 6), 3 TBSP ground cumin and 3 TBSP chili powder. Stir until well blended and store. Preparation instructions: place 1 1/2 cup bean flour and 3 1/4 cups of water into a medium sauce pan. Bring mixture to a boil over medium heat and cook until thick about 15 minutes. When desired consistency remove from heat and add 1 cup salsa, stir and serve. Yield approx 3 cups. When I use this to make bean dip, I also chop up pickled jalapenos into it as well as a little of the jalapeno juice. Yummy! Thank you so much for this time saving, tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
GREAT time saver, thanks! Much healthier and cheaper than buying the canned refried beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I decided to disregard a review that told me nothing (Not good, wasn't working... Because...?? What's the point?), tried it and it worked great for me in particular! I've made it many times, always testing as I go and depending on my mood, I adjust the heat by using "mild/medium or hot" salsa which is key to if it would be bland or spicy, those spices count. Great technique for me so I can keep dried beans stored yet still get a fix for a sudden craving! It's a technique with dried beans you could use in many more circumstances. I just cooked until thick - on my particular stove, that was 20 minutes. As many stoves, salsas and beans and quality of spices as there are in the world, try to be fair or informative regarding recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
A nice substitue for the real thing, the kids don't know the difference. I would use a little less cumin next time (1/4 tsp), just for our taste preferences, but over all a fast and easy way to use those dried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
My family LOVED this recipe! I would suggest to grind up the beans as fine as possible. I personally used my coffee grinder and it worked great!!! It was a wonderful dip and was soooo yummy on our soft tacos. I can't wait to take this to a family dinner! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I was just looking at the recipes for refried beans a little amused at the thought of a recipe for this. I always thought everyone knew how to make refried beans. I have to admit I have found some new ideas I hadn't thought of before. Then I found this particular recipe. I was so excited I had to try it out right away never mind that dinner is already done and eaten. I am truly hoping that this will turn out great. It would be great when I am short on beans and someone drops in. If it turns out I will be sure to share it with all of my friends and relatives. Although the beans are not done yet they are not grainy. I think the problem for the cook who said the beans just would not get done is old beans. Old beans will not cook up well. Try buying the beans at a store that has a high turnover rate.An area with a high Mexican population would be good especially at a Mexican store. They turned out great. I will definitly use this again. Try adding a small amount of garlic and onion for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
It was quite different than canned, but it worked well. I cooked mine much less than fifteen minutes - it was already quite thick after only a few minutes. Kinda funny - I used black beans and with the salsa added, my refried beans were purple! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very good, but instead of putting dried beans in the food processor, I added cooked pinto beans and just doubled the amount called for in the recipe. My 18-month-old nephew loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
quick, easy and yummy recipe that lets you control the nutritional value of the dish. Canned beans contain salt and lard - this recipe makes "refried" beans in a jiffy. I add minced onion, cumin, and a can of green chilis when I make them. Thanks for the recipe ACHOCOCAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUTFISH1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I have to be honest...it looks like baby food. BUT...it has a really good taste. For a shortcut recipe, I would make them again. I had a problem with them being chunky, but I put them in the grinder after cooking for a while and they turned out alot better. I also added a bit more seasoning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States