Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
So I will amend my earlier review to account for quadrupling this recipe as I make this for family at holidays. Since an earlier review found it too dry and crumbly to work with (as did I when working in such a large volume) I cut the flour to 31/2 cups (rounded), 1cup rice flour and butter and sugar x4. I press these into ceramic molds sprayed with cooking spray and they come out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
For those who found the dough too dry, try this: take some long strips of plastic wrap and have them form an "X" on your counter. Pour the dough pieces onto the wrap. Use the leftover ends of the plastic wrap as "gloves" and press the pieces of dough together. This will take a few tries, but it will form one cohesive lump. Then continue pressing the dough to knead it maybe 10-20 times. You won't need extra butter. Your hands stay clean and all the dough is inside the wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Amazed there are not more shortbread recipes around with rice flour - these are the most authentic and gives that wonderful texture that can t be accomplished otherwise. Thanks for a great recipe - very similar to what I have used for years and won many prices for same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very crumbly and difficult to work with dough, and the finished cookies were also crumbly. I tried to dip the wedges in chocolate, but the cookies had so much excess flour and crumbs on them that my chocolate ended up a mess. Tasted great, but too ugly to give out (which was my intent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I found this delicious. Learned after the 1st time I made it to cut in cold butter rather than softened. I also had brown rice flour instead of white rice flour. I didn't put any sugar on top after baking. I worked it with my hands to conform to a circle of 8 inches on parchment paper and cut the time in oven to 30 min. My English guests liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Found the dough extremely dry and crumbly and the cookies when made even more so (very dry .. you needed something to drink to eat them!). I'll have to try to add significantly more butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
These were awesome, awesome, awesome!! The rice flour gives them such a nice crispy texture. I did need a little extra butter to make the dough easier to handle since I refrigerated it for an hour and then rolled the dough out and cut out rounds. I sprinkled a tiny bit of sugar on the top but they don't even need it. I took them to an International Potluck and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This shortbread was really nice! It was a beautiful golden color,and not too sweet-real shortbread. I wrapped the circle in red cellophane paper and gave it away as a Christmas gift. Four stars only because the dough was slightly dry, nothing that I couldn't fix by adding some more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Excellent texture - not too sweet - great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
Nice shortbread. I prefer a little sweeter, with a touch of salt, but overall, very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States