Shortbread Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Flat and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I just finished trying this recipe and have got to say that it is my new 'go to' cookie recipe. I used confectioners sugar instead of white, (I added 1/4 cup more for a little extra sweetness) added a tablespoon of vanilla, and replaced a tablespoon of flour for corn starch. I did not need to refrigerate the dough, in fact I used a little less of the flour mixture and rolled up 1 inch balls and placed them on the cookie sheet. Then I flattened them with a fork, pushed a little hole in the middle and filled them with jam. mmmmmmm yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My new favorite cookie recipe. This is great if you want to make iced cookies quickly. (Which I did!) No chill time for the dough, and the cookies come out light and buttery. They weren't too sweet either, so the frosting was a nice addition, rather than too much sugar. I will say that I have tried this with Land O Lakes margarine and it worked almost as well as butter, but try it with butter first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
The consistency was wonderful...a very traditional shortbread! Delicious dipped in dark chocolate and rolled in hazelnuts for a little drama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Putney, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I've only made this recipe one time and added vanilla to the recipe. The recipe came out came out nicely. I used my cookie press and Ithe cookies came out nicely. They are not too sweet and great with a big glass of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
THIS IS ONE OF THE WORST DOUGHS I HAVE EVER MADE IN MY LIFE!! YOU CAN'T EVEN ROLL THE OUT EVEN AFTER PUTTING IN FRIG FOR A COUPLE HOURS...I WASTED MY INGREDIENTS ON THIS ONE WHAT A SHAME.....THIS RECIPE NEEDS REMOVED OR TWEAKED BUT I DON'T KNOW WHAT TWEAKING COULD HELP THIS ONE AND I HAVE MADE A MANY CUT-OUT COOKIES!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This is a really good shortbread recipe. I did add a little vanilla, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This recipe turned out perfectly. I rolled out the dough and cut it into squares. Then I pressed a pecan half into each. These are very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ggglitch
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Basic ingredients for a basic shortbread cookie. They tasted absolutely fantastic and melted in your mouth when they were still warm, but after they cooled a few minutes later, the cookies did not have that melt in your mouth, creamy shortbread texture that I was looking for. The taste though was excellent. I added 1 tspn vanilla extract for a little more taste. I had a ton of chocolate baking wafers, so I put one in the middle of each of my cookies to make them look prettier and for a little chocolate treat. Easy to make and great tasting, but as for the authentic 'shortbread' factor, I would say it's lacking in the texture compartment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggglitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I was craving shortbread and this one really hit the spot. I did add 1 tsp of vanilla extract. This was melt in your mouth perfection. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States