Shortbread Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Yummy and buttery! I bake these in a cookie sheet and cut them into bars. After they bake, I top w/ a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips, let them melt, and then spread across the top. Put in fridge to cool and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made these to dip in various kinds of chocolate and give away, and they were well-received. However, I found them to be a little harsh and grainy without the added chocolate, though it wasn't very noticeable with it. Perhaps it just needed more or less mixing; will have to try again. Still, very simple recipe, very versatile cookie for decorating or adding on to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaveTheDubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Great recipe for last minute shortbread. I don't like recipes that use icing sugar and i didn't have time to cure a true shortbread. I added a touch more sugar (in response to earlier reviews) and sprinkled some more on top. A little chewier than usual shortbread but the flavour was nice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
By far the best shortbread I've ever made or eaten. I am already imagining the possibilities for add-ins such as orange or lemon zest, lavender, cinnamon...but they are fantastic as is. I made these tonight and cut them out with a salmon shaped cookie cutter and dipped the "tails" in melted chocolate. I'm bringing them to a work Christmas potluck tomorrow and I know they'll disappear fast. I softened the butter just slightly enough for it to easily cream with the sugar, but not so soft that the dough got too messy. I made them a little on the thin side and baked for 11 minutes. These are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My family loved these. I added lemon flavor to them and it really made them extra delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very nice and easy. Great to make for Holiday gifts. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I used it to make thumbprint cookies with strawberry jam in the middle and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
These were great! I was also a wee bit lazy and just firmly pressed these into a brownie pan and baked a bit longer and then cut into strips. WONDERFUL. One thing I did do was to lightly brush the top with milk and then sprinkled granulated sugar on top to give it a light sheen. Thank you for the recipe. This is a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I've never made shortbread before and this was INCREDIBLY easy and very delicious. The dough was easy to handle but I just dropped them onto the cookie sheet. Thanks. Thanks. & more thanks. Even the batter is very good tasting. Will DEFINITELY make them again. Have emailed this recipe to my sister too. NOT disappointed. I agree, Christmas only, large quantities. Out of 10, how about an 11. The only thing I disliked was not the taste (to die for) was that some of the cookies were too crumbly when I took them off the sheet and they broke apart too easily so they were not a complete cookie, at least, not all of them. But, hey, I'm diabetic so I get a slight taste without raising my sugar too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States