Shortbread Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
So easy to make, and tastes great! I was looking for a recipe for a cookie exchange, and this will be perfect. Just made a test batch, and I won't need to alter it in any way. My only word of caution is to use flour on the cookie cutters, the doughy is a bit sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
UPDATE _ TIPS! ***Be sure to use really really soft butter, wrap in plastic wrap and plunk in the fridge until cool to the touch. Roll out with a little flour, but be sure to keep them THICK as they don't rise very much and cut them with a cutter and you're good to go!*** Awesome. Cut into circles and Put a quarter of a maraschino cherry on top of each one before cooking. cooked them for only about 8 mins (have a hot oven) Delicious! :) Just like gramma used to make (gave her some and she asked me where i found her recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe was the perfect base for what I needed. I needed a recipe for my dairy allergic child to bring to school and decorate with his classmates. I substituted the butter for vegetable shortening and I used icing sugar/confectioners sugar instead of the white sugar for a finer look. The cookies were perfect, held together for decorating and still melted in your mouth. Not too sweet either. Thanks for posting, this is definitely going into my baking repetiore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is the same recipe that has been passed down in my family for almost 5 generations. The key to these, is that you have to bake them, and put them in an airtight cookie tin, and let them mellow for about 2 weeks before you eat them, then drink them with your Grandma with a cuppa tea. Then they are not just good they are AWESOME! Miss you much grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Absolutely awesome recipe; simple and everyone loves them. My only complaint is that as a shortbread rookie I found the directions a bit vague, it should be noted that the butter needs to be room temperature otherwise your dough won't come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
They were easy to make with the kids but not much taste even though we increased the sugar by 1/4 cup and added a touch of almond extract. I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ward'sgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Absolutely delicious, and so easy to make! I added 1/4 tsp of salt to the dough for more flavor. I also found that the dough was a little hard to work with, though. I ended up adding more about 2 tbs. of extra flour, and it was still really hard to roll and cut with cookie cutters. I used a ton of flour for rolling, and by the end, the dough was easy to work with. Next time I make these, though, I will probably add about 1/4 cup of extra flour to the dough before I attempt rolling. I used festive cookie cutters (a maple leaf and an acorn) and piped melted chocolate chips onto each baked cookie for decoration. They turned out really cute, and everyone loved them. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Just sweet enough but I found the cooking time best at 7 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I added some extra sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I sprinkled sugar on top of the cookies before baking them. Excellent , everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These were delicious!They were just the right amount of crumbl. Could have been sweeter, i will add sugar next time a i make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States