Shortbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I was looking forward to making this shortbread because the recipe is similar to my family recipe, but I am sorely disappointed. The dough didn't look like fine crumbs, as shortbread dough should. It more resembled a bowl of flour (yes, I'm sure I put the other ingredients in!). I added milk, as another user suggested, but the dough became elastic. I am not even going to bake the cookies. I'm throwing the dough out and I won't attempt this recipe again, but it definitely needed less flour or more butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Super easy to make. I added a splash of vanilla. My husband took these to work and they got rave reviews. One co-worker claimed they were the best shortbread she had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TiNkEr BeLl
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
i love how simple they were to make mmmm so good. they came out perfect. Love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiNkEr BeLl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
There is WAY too much flour in this recipe. It barely tastes like shortbread. I ended up adding another stick of creamed butter with 1/2 cup sugar to the dough to get it more to my liking (healthy, I know). Next time I think I'll just decrease the flour to 2 cups and keep everything else the same. I did like that these can be rolled into cutouts. For those whose cutouts fell apart, try chilling the sheet of rolled dough after cutting out your shapes (but before removing the outside dough). This makes it much easier. Also, chill whatever dough you're not rolling out right then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefayray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
omgosh omgosh a little piece of heaven on earth! Much better and simplier then traditional sugar cookies because they are not so...well...."sugary" tasting. These are more savory. I added a little almond extract for additional flavor. No need to add extra liquid, just work the dough longer (use your hands)!! I frosted these with the Wilton Buttercream recipe and it was FANTASTIC! Thank you for sharing. This one is going in the permanent recipe box. Merry Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This recipe is so simple and easy to make and it makes delicious shortbread! The key to cutting shapes and transferring them to the baking tray is to use a thin spatula and cut it under the cookie - no crumbling that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
My first attempt at baking period was with this recipe. It went of awesome!! This is a great recipe that made me look like a seasoned baker when it was actually my first time. Very easy. When I thought I was adding too much flour, (at about the 2 cup mark), I had faith in the recipe and kept adding flour to 2.5 cups. I was given some advice to under cook vs. over cook, so actually, I just had the cookies in the oven for 14 minutes, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
The dough was kind of crumbly, but we added a bit of milk to help it stick together. Before putting them in the oven, we sprinkled some of them with a sugar/cinnamon mixture (about 1/4 as much cinnamon as sugar) and it goes so well with them! We frosted the rest of them with chocolate cake frosting...I was afraid the flavors wouldn't match, but it turned out quite the opposite! This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I am so glad I found this recipe! I originally found it in a christmas cookie recipe about 5 yrs ago and have given up on sugar cookie cutouts ever since. The dough can be tempermental depending on room temperature and humidity but it is worth working with. I get so many compliments and it can melt in your mouth. you really need the dough to be a sticky ball before you are done. put the half not being rolled into the fridge and this will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
The dough was not crumbly like other shortbreads. I put them in at the time it said and they came out perfect! A little note, make them about one and a half inches long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States