Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
We have updated this recipe due to a typo. The amount of baking powder has been reduced to 1/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Delicious shortbread crust. A few comments, though: 1) yields 2 pies, or one double crust; 2) I think baking powder may be omitted, since the shortbread rises very high and 3) may add 1/2 to 1 tsp salt, to make it even more shortbready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
Quick and easy to make crust. I refrigerated the dough for a half hour before baking, pricked the crust on the bottom to keep it from "poofing" up too much, and added 1 tsp. of vanilla for flavour. Quick, easy and delicious. I agree with the previous review; it yields two crusts. Great with the Fresh Strawberry Pie I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This recipe provides more dough than will fit into a 9-in pie plate. It would probably work better in a 9x13. I had to cook 7 minutes longer than indicated to get it done & a couple of times had to take it out of the oven to pat down & reshape the rising dough so it would leave room in the dish for my pie filling. It was worth the effort though & went nicely with my key lime pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
What a simple recipie for crust. Excellent tasting, I could just eat the crust alone. Also the fat calories are not the high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Very tasty. My supermarket doesn't carry the premade shortbread crusts anymore so I thought I'd try this one. I also added a capful of vanilla to the batter and refrigerated the pie crust for about 1/2 hour prior to baking. I found baking time is more like 15-20 minutes. This crust is great with strawberry pie recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I thought this recipe was delicious. The first time I made it I filled the crust with fresh strawberries, and the second I used dulce de leche ice cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This was the best shortbread crust I've ever had. I definitely could have eaten it by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Excellent. I used it for a lemon meringue. If you wanted a nice thick crust this portion makes one thick, delicious crust. Or two thinner crusts. I placed it into my pie pan, put saran wrap over it and then pressed it using another pie pan. The crust came up over all the sides and made this awesome thick crust with a very thick and pretty border. Did I mention it was delicious?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I made it into little mini fruit tarts. Excellent shortbread crust. I stuck the tarts in the freezer for about 10-15 minutes before baking so they wouldn't rise. Very flaky, buttery crust. Works perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States