Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I've been making cobblers for a year and a half, searching for the perfect shortbread recipe. FOUND !! You can eat it raw, (no eggs) and it tastes almost as delicious as it is baked. I substitute somewhat less sugar for Truvia or Splenda to cut down on the sugar. Also, you can add pecan pieces to the crust sometimes for more texture and toasty flavor. Especially in a fruit cobbler or tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I also add a little bit of Orange or Lemon rind if you are making any kind of fruit pie. It just adds to the flavor. I also didn't add baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is a perfect shortbread crust recipe. I make it for a fresh raspberry tart and its always a total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
It tasted good- but I found it dry. I may have overworked the crust while pressing it in. It also stuck to the pan, in spite of spraying it with cooking spray. probably won't use this recipe again... I'd like to find a slighter softer, perhaps moister/buttery crust...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Very good. I followed exactly, but my baking powder is about six months-old so I don't know if it even made a difference being in there. I poked the crust with a fork before baking it because others did. This crust is delicious on its own. I know this because I made cookies with the leftover dough from my pie and they were amazing. The dough is very easy to work with. I will use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Delicious crust!! I used it for Key Lime pies that I had made...Very good!.. I intend to keep this recipe & use as crust for lots of other deserts!!... Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Easiest crust I have ever made, and the flavor/texture was wonderful! Had to cook it a bit longer, but that was no biggie. Next time I will probably chill it before spreading in pan as it wanted to stick to my fingers (not as bad when I switched to a spoon). Used this instead of graham cracker crust for a caramel banana pie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is soooo good! I left out the baking powder and halved the recipe to make chocolate mini pies. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Tastes good but definitely yields 2 crusts. More appropriate for a bar recipe, but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing this easy pie crust recipe. I will be using this from now on! It tasted amazing too:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States