Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Great shortbread crust! I made it exactly as directed, pressed it into the bottom of a 13x9 glass pan, and then topped it with some partially cooked apples, cinnamon sugar and what I had left of the shortbread dough. It looked sort of like a crumble on top. I had some caramel I made from the cooked apple liquid and drizzled that on top, baked it all for about 40 min and it is delicious. Better than regular apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MP McDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
We used half butter, half shortening, and melted them slightly before mixing in the food processor with the sugar. (We also added a little more sugar since we were making a rhubarb pie.) We added 1 tsp of apple cider vinegar, and mixed it all in the food processor until it formed a dough. Then divided in two parts, pressed into a 9 inch pan, put the other half in the freezer until the one pressed into the tin was done baking. We then rolled out the cold half and cut out shapes to place in top of the pie. Worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Easy to make, great taste and then throw any fresh fruit in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Schofer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This gets 4 stars for how it is "as is." I made 1/2 a recipe to get 1 pie crust. It was really sticky & while I could get it pressed in the pie plate, it was WAY too sticky to roll pieces to make a decorative top. I had to add more flour to be able to work with it. However, the taste was great. I will make again with more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Good crust and super easy to throw together. This had a nice flavor and went well with my peanut butter pie. I don't care for crumb crusts so I'm always looking for a nice alternative to the basic pastry crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I just made this crust for mini tartlets and the cake and it was the best shortbread crust ever. It is a keeper.Was very simple and quick to make.I love the amount of crust it will make. I made a variety of desserts with it...ex: mini tartlets w/ creamcheese, creamcheese cake and shortbread cookies w/ jam. This is my go to recipe for cookies...No more store bought for us. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Francis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is a great recipe as-written just for the texture of it, and the richness. But I wanted to add more flavor, so I put in 2 Tablespoons of lemon zest, and 1 tsp. of almond extract. I patted it into a 9x13 baking dish, followed the baking instructions, and when it was cool, I cut it into bars about 3.1/4 inches long and a little over an inch wide. I then dipped 1 end into a semisweet chocolate ganache, and sprinkled finely crushed macadamias on the chocolate end. Wow...my family loved it! You can tweak this recipe with different flavors of add-ins and coatings, but you still have that great shortbread to start with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Thought this was great. Used to top an apple walnut cobbler/pie. Plan on using next year for all my pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was a great recipe. I made this crust a few days ago for a lemon meringue pie. Everyone loved it and it was much simpler and more foolproof than making a traditional crust. My girlfriend asked if I could just make her a crust to eat by itself! Lol! I didn't have an issue with the crust puffing up too much or anything. I liked it just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I'm sure this recipe would make 2 - 9x13 pans. Way too thick, too much butter and flour! And tastes too floury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States