Shortbread Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is a good recipe but I recommend but id you want a softer cookie, melt the butter! It always works to make them softer instead of a crunchy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Really yummy. I'm putting away my mom's recipe that I use every year for this one! I used icing sugar instead of a cup of white sugar (because that's how I have always done it) and they were nice and sweet. Just make sure to score and cut when still warm. I was distracted for a while by a little one, and they split a bit. Even the 19 month old liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2manymouths2feed
Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
The texture of these cookies is perfect and that's half the battle with shortbread. But I could taste the rice flour and I thought that was a detriment to the cookie. I give the texture 5 stars and the flavor 4 stars. Otherwise, it's a great shortbread. The base isn't very sweet, so you can choose whether to add the sugar to the top. For me, I like the sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe and the cookies are phenomenal. I wouldn't change a thing in the recipe. We love shortbread cookies in the family and these are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This was the first shortbread cookie recipe I ever tried and it worked out just fine! In fact I experimented with making a brown sugar cinnamon mixture and layered on half the cookies. I also lowered the oven tempurature to 325 and baked about 5 minutes longer. Cookies came excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rabit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
only ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I did not have rice flour but used cake flour instead. These turned out great. I have made 4 pans of these and they have now become a staple to have with coffee in the morning! Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delicious! I rolled out dough and used my husband's grandmother's English cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollykesler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
so easy & quick to make. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UptownChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Made it!!! This is surely an easy to follow recipe. I did all as the recipe but make it as classic as possible by adding pure vanilla extract...and 1tbsp of salt... The dough is easy to be play with too...After I cut it in shapes, pricks it with fork and pour in sugar, I place it in the refrigerator for about 15 minutes. The trick says it will firm up the dough so the cookies will maintain their shape when baked and glad to know that the trick works... It's indeed a wonderful recipe...give a new twist to a shortbread... but if you are trying to find a -buttery ala walkers shortbread... I don't think this is the recipe you are looking for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States