Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These cookies are fantastic. The recipe is simple, and easy to follow. I was able to switch out white flour with an unbleached and whole wheat mix, and still ended up with melt-in-your-mouth tasty cookies with a soft wonderful texture. Like many other I did not have a cookie press, so I rolled out little balls a la peanut butter cookies and just pushed them down with the fork. However, like others have said, this recipe makes more than 2 dozen cookies for sure. I got over three and was making some pretty hefty sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Silvestri
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Really love this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Mmmm... I halved the recipe and rolled dough into two logs wrapped in parchment paper. I refrigerated the logs for about 30 minutes and then sliced into quarter inch slices with a sharp knife. I then used the same parchment paper to bake these for almost 15 minutes. Delicious. Just make sure the dough is properly mixed before rolling the dough. Next time, after baking and cooling, I will try these dipped halfway in melted bittersweet chocolate and chopped almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe because I was out of corn starch, and my usual recipe requires it. These cookies stay soft, but this is not like the classic shortbread. More chewy then melty. I dipped the tips of the cookies in a chocolate ganache, complimented the cookies nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Bought the Wilton cookie press just for this recipe and sadly it didn't work out :( Ended up rolling out the dough into logs and cutting into little cookies. I think the dough was too stiff for the press. It came out of the press but not cleanly onto the cookie sheet. Just looked like sad, squished playdoh wah-wah. Perhaps my butter wasn't soft enough? I may try the recipe again since the cookies themselves tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
LOVE this recipe. Big hit at Christmas parties, bake sales, etc. Made an account just so I could comment and express my appreciation for this recipe. I like to add 3 tsp of vanilla, and then top with icing and sprinkles. The sprinkles can be changed depending on the holiday/occasion/preferences, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have been baking for years and this was the first time I have ever tried to make shortbread cookies. I really like shortbread and thought I would give it a go on making some. The first time, I did exactly as the recipe instructed, but the cookies had hardly any flavor at all. The second batch I added a BUNCH (3 teaspoons) more vanilla extract and they had a light vanilla flavor, finally. Other than the flavor, the cookies turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CubanChica_FoodLover

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I've used this recipe about four times without a cookie press and it's worked wonderfully. I don't chill the dough, and I make sure the butter isn't completely at room temperature, so they roll out better. This time, I even added candy canes to the batter and it's turning out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Yummy and oh so easy! I followed another bakers tip and rolled into logs, chilled, sliced and baked! Cutting with cookie cutters would have looked better but still looked good and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great recipe for "pure" shortbread. I used lemon extract instead of vanilla and added the grated zest from one lemon. I rolled them out and used cookie cutters. Perfect Christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States