Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Super easy and turned out great! I just rolled them in balls and then used the cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoriLynne Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
These taste fantastic. I don't have a cookie press, so I just used my hands to make really tiny cookies that fit in the palm of my hand. My favorite shortbread cookies were always the ones with sugar crusted on top, so what I did on about half of mine was set them upside down in sugar to give them a nice crunchy sugar crust on top. These came out FLAWLESSLY! I'll have to experiment with other toppings on them. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I love this recipe! I have to say these cookies are now my favorite!! I did not do a cookie press. I just rolled them in a ball and flatten them. Definitely an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
We loved the taste very much, but agree a cookie press would help with the look!! We loved this recipe so much that I'm going to use it with fruit pizza for July 4th!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Aldridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkm
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I thought these were delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I don't have a cookie press, so I rolled the dough into logs, chilled, then sliced about 1/2" thick and baked for about 11 minutes. They came out very rich and buttery, not overly sweet but very tender and melt-in-your-mouth delicious. I sprinkled some with colored sugar or sprinkles before baking and left the rest plain, then half-dipped in melted chocolate after they cooled. All were good, next time I will try doing thumbprints filled with jam. Very versatile and very easy. I will definitely be making these again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I have used this recipe twice and both times were delicious. I let the dough chill for about an hour and then rolled it out and used cookie cutters. They came out perfectly. Simple and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPIRITMAGIK30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
One of my favorite shortbread recipes. Only thing is that you ABSOLUTELY need REAL BUTTER. Not margarine or hydrogenated oil spread (country crock), I mean >35% saturated fat butter. If you do not use real butter you will taste flour (a flavorless cookie). I made my own butter with heavy cream and they were so delicious. I'll be making them again, today. I did not have a cookie press so I froze the dough for 20 minutes and rolled it out between floured parchment paper and then I used a floured cutter. I definitely recommend a cookie press, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Delicious, simple recipe! Who'd have thought four ingredients could be so perfect together? Didn't change a thing. Rolled into balls and flattened with a glass jar dipped in turbinado sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
A very simple recipe with delightful melt in your mouth results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Made a mess and needed a very large bowl but these simple cookies turned out fantastic. Very melt-in-your mouth and excellent dipped in coffee or milk. I used the tip someone else mentioned and formed into 4 logs and refrigerated for 30 minutes. Slice 1/2" and bake! Oh and no way do these only make 2 dozen, I ended up with about 6 dozen! I was able to pass some on to a neighbor who always gives me baked goods. Also sprinkled powdered sugar on these...I thought of icing or decorating and you easily could, but sometimes simple is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Beckwith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States