Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Used this recipe as written with a cookie press to make pillow cookies with small pieces of Hershey's inside. No ingredient change for altitude (6,000 ft). Baked for 14 min at 350 on silpat mats on the cookie sheets. We've made them twice and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I have to say my last night home with my kids before Christmas break. I choose this recipe to bake for teachers and bus driver and wasted money on shopping for ingredients. This is the worst cookie recipe I've ever tried! You could not roll the dough and all the cookies just spread into one giant mess in my oven. I'm going to try and salvage the remaining batter by adding more flour I HOPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry-Lee LeClair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I just got done making these cookies and this recipe is by far the easiest and tastiest of any others that I have tried for my cookie press. The dough is a little hard to mix together but I used my hands to mix the dough until it came together and it worked out fine. When the cookies are baked second rack up in my oven for 11 minutes, I removed them off the cookie sheet to a rack to cool. The only thing I did was use 1 Tsp. of lemon extract and 1 tsp. of vanilla. My family all love lemon flavoring. I would give this recipe 10 or more points if I could Pat H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
It tasted good but I think 4 cups is too much flour. It has a texture of a flour paste when soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe Hatch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Excellent is as close as I can come to describing it. Words do not fully do this justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Do you use powdered sugar or granulated sugar. They look fabulous and I am anxious to try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I halved this recipe and it made exactly 2 dozen fair size cookies. I do not have a cookie press so I refrigerated the dough for a half an hour( as another review suggested) then rolled into 24 balls. I rolled the balls in powdered sugar then made a thumbprint and put half a maraschino cherry in the top and baked for 11 mins. Next time I WOULD NOT refrigerate the dough first... The cookies turned out very thick and had big splits in them( not a nice presentation for holiday gifts).... The taste and texture of the cookies was very good. I will make these again and not refrigerate the dough... And add a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I have a very similar recipe that I make every year, so if you don't have a cookie press, here is what you do - use the recipe above (my recipe doesn't include vanilla and I don't miss it, either). Instead of putting in a cookie press, make 2 'logs' out of the dough, and roll the logs in colored sparkling sugar. Wrap in plastic wrap & refrigerate until firm - a couple of hours, or overnight. Then slice the dough into cookies about 1/4 inch thick & bake @ 325 for about 20 min. Since ovens vary, just watch the cookies & make sure they don't get too brown - they are better when nice and light-colored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mojenni
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This is such an easy recipe, so yummy and makes way more than the recipe says. I believe for me and the cookie press I have it made at least 5 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Easy to make and taste delicious. Had to hide them from my son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States