Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Love these! Instead of vanilla, I used lemon extract and the zest of two lemons. It gave the cookies a wonderful aroma and just a hint of lemon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Pretty good recipe :) although I halved them seeing as everyone said it made a lot of them and I think I needed to add more sugar..however.. I dipped some in chocolate and let them dry and some I put jelly on top! Very tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kylie Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Note: I see a lot of "it's tastes too much like flour/biscuits" reviews, mostly from those of us without a cookies press that end up rolling them out. This should help: Instead of rolling your dough out on a floured surface, which puts more flour than needed into the dough, simply place the dough between waxed paper. This not only eliminates the excess flour, it also makes the dough easier to work with since it doesn't stick to anything. I used this method, rolled mine out to about 1/4 inch thickness, and they turned out perfectly! I also think that some of the reviewers are confusing these with Sugar Cookies, which are much sweeter, since I saw a lot of "these are so bland" reviews. Shortbread cookies are not meant to be super-sweet, they are meant to be subtle, and in my opinion, this recipe nailed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Very easy and extremely tasty! Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki Brown
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
First time trying these. Had to free form them since I have no cookie cutters or press. I rolled them into balls and then flating and shaped them roughly into circles. I used only 3 cups of flour instead of 4 which worked just as well. These were cakelike buttery and delicious. I really enjoyed adding different flavours and decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Riri
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Very good recipe. My family loves it & always asks me to make them. I add a tad more flour and top baked cookies with melted chocolate, sprinkles, cookie pieces or whatever I have laying around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I was not thrilled with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I love this recipe. It was great. My god children had so much fun because the recipe was easy for them to grasp. I added extra tsp of Mexican vanilla (you can find this vanilla extract online at Penzey's Spices). Even though the recipe does not call for salt, I added a tsp of saIt ( next time I will not add the salt. I can then compare them and make a final decision whether to add salt or not.) I also used confection sugar to coat dough and roller. It really added to the flavor. Also make sure you follow the time strictly. If the edges become a caranel brown, you have over cooked them. This was an excellent recipe. I will place this one in my recipe box. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
this shorcut bread did not work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yasmeen hassan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 526) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States