Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I have used this recipe twice and both times were delicious. I let the dough chill for about an hour and then rolled it out and used cookie cutters. They came out perfectly. Simple and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPIRITMAGIK30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
One of my favorite shortbread recipes. Only thing is that you ABSOLUTELY need REAL BUTTER. Not margarine or hydrogenated oil spread (country crock), I mean >35% saturated fat butter. If you do not use real butter you will taste flour (a flavorless cookie). I made my own butter with heavy cream and they were so delicious. I'll be making them again, today. I did not have a cookie press so I froze the dough for 20 minutes and rolled it out between floured parchment paper and then I used a floured cutter. I definitely recommend a cookie press, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Delicious, simple recipe! Who'd have thought four ingredients could be so perfect together? Didn't change a thing. Rolled into balls and flattened with a glass jar dipped in turbinado sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
A very simple recipe with delightful melt in your mouth results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Made a mess and needed a very large bowl but these simple cookies turned out fantastic. Very melt-in-your mouth and excellent dipped in coffee or milk. I used the tip someone else mentioned and formed into 4 logs and refrigerated for 30 minutes. Slice 1/2" and bake! Oh and no way do these only make 2 dozen, I ended up with about 6 dozen! I was able to pass some on to a neighbor who always gives me baked goods. Also sprinkled powdered sugar on these...I thought of icing or decorating and you easily could, but sometimes simple is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Beckwith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Absolutely delicious! The whole recipe gave us around 4 dozen 2-inch cookies. Remember not to over bake them...the aren't supposed to get really browned on top or bottom. And they come out of the oven a bit soft, but set up nicely as they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSBIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocolover
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
So good!! I drizzled some chocolate on top because they're a little plain without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly, except halved it since I didn't want that many cookies. They looked delicious but the taste was not good at all. I'm not really sure how to describe the taste other than floury and blah. The texture however is great and melt in your mouth as others have suggested. 2 stars for simplicity and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
My mixture was crumbly. The taste was ok but not what I was expecting. Will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I make this recipe a few times a year, definitely every Christmas and they always turn out amazing! I do not have a cookie press and simply use cookie cutters without any issue. I sometimes roll the end of the dough into a log and slice off circular cookies. They don't have that weird starchy taste on your tongue that other shortbread cookies have. They aren't too sweet... just right! I love them decorated with icing sugar mixed with a bit of spiced rum, sprinkled with nutmeg. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassia Dennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 567) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States