Short Cut Mexican Fideo (Vermicelli) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is a great recipe when on a tight budget! Easy & good. If I have leftover chicken, I shred it & add right before the noodles are done. I also use a chicken bouillon cube and add about 1/2 can tomatoe sauce. My kids love this, esp when I add the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Taste very good..just like my grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This tastes so good, I thought I was back at mom's, !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very basic recipe and a good one. I added 1/2 tsp cumin, garlic, 1/2 cup frozen peas and 1/2 chopped tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was very good. I used 1-8oz can of tomato sauce because i didnt have cubes and i added the cumin like the submitter suggested. I also added a pinch of oregano. Served with sour cream, cojita cheese, lime and tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
We love this recipe. Thanks so much for putting such a simple dish up. It's quick, easy and I generally have these ingredients around the pantry. Even my PICKY 15 year old daughter went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesky Barb
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Yumm! Fixed it for lunch. Since I have gluten issues, I used a corn pasta instead. Will be doing some cooking for a big birthday party soon. With a bit of "dressing up" (corn and peas perhaps?) this will make an excellent (simple, inexpensive, and easily expandable!) side dish to the 10 chickens I will be roasting! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SchmecktGut

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
UPDATE: Chicken-y flavor, not too tomatoey and not spicy at all. Our vermicilli fideo only comes in 5 oz packages here so I used a 26 oz box of stock and only 1 and about 2/3 the other tomato bullion cube and then simmered it until the liquid was reduced. I added a generous pinch of both ground cumin and oregano. Awesome meal! Original: Thanks Amy! I found my new favorite fideo recipe. This was great. Quick and easy to make. I used chicken boullion cubes instead of tomato and mexican tomato sauce and water for the broth. I did add some comino and topped this with sour cream and some mexican cheese blend. I snuck in a pinch of oregano too as suggested by another reviewer, thanks SB for the tip! This turned out great and I will be making this one again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very easy and sooooo good. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckrisaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Outstanding and an unusual side dish. It's a cross between a soup and spaghetti. My family loves this! Thank You Amy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States