Shoofly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
My husband is from PA Dutch country, and this recipe was spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Wonderful! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Very good pie, but I have had better. The wet layer is a little small for my taste (about 1/5 of the depth of the pie). The next time I make this recipe I will increase the wet layer ingredients by 25-30%. The crumb layer does turn out to be more of a cake layer with some crumb on top due to the baking soda and flour. I would also suggest adding a small amount of spice to the "crumb" layer. Though I never tried it, I speculate that nutmeg or cinnamon may be a nice addition. SYRUP: I used Kings Syrup instead of molasses. It gives shoo fly pie a milder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I musta done something wrong, the pie was done in the first 15 minutes and the middle was like water. anybody tell me what I did wrong? The crust nice and brown, the top was nice and dark but the rest was soupy. Ate what I could and it tasted great. Do you think I was supposed to let it set after taking it out of the oven? I would like to make this pie so if anyone can let me know what went wrong I would gladly love to hear from you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
After cooking for 40 minutes, the "pie" became a soil-like consistency with a centimeter thick layer of brown goop underneath. The whole thing tasted like burnt molasses. Even ice cream couldn't salvage the wreck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
loved this recipe!! good directions, and easy to follow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My crust rose in the center, I made it just like the recipe called for, but it did not get done in the center since the crust was not flat. Won't make this again. This is the second time I tried this and had the same problem both times !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hollyj
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Made this once before as my 1st attempt at pie baking. Super easy and a well stocked baker's pantry should have everything you need to complete. followed the recipe exactly and it came out beautifully. Never had an Amish shoofly pie, but if they are anything like how this one turns out, I may give up electricity and trade in my mini Cooper for a horse & buggy! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
awesome pie. it turned out perfectly. i'm gonna make this for holiday and family occasions all the time. only i got the idea of adding dried figs on the bottom of the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I grew up in PA for 20 years in Berks County. My Mom is german and she once worked at Wixions Bakery where Shoo fly pie is made fantastic! I was happy to make the recipie. although it came close for me it is off just a bit. While I was adding in the topping I did feel it would be a alittle much but added it all anyways. It turned out sorta dry and the bottom was'nt wet enough. There is usually more of a layer on the bottom. Also the Molasses I used was a bit too strong tasting. I recommend using a lighter flavor of Molasses and not as much of the topping and I think it will turn out perfect! The reason why I tried this recipie is because I could'nt find my Moms original. Overall it is a nice ShooFly Pie recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States