Shoo Fly Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I found this recipe and changed it a little to make something kind of like a coffee crumb cake and it was amazing. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Easy to make. Floury taste. We added maple syrup and it turned out great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Did not taste like shoo fly at all. Made again with black strap molasses (half oil/half molasses) turned out much better.I kept the oil unlike others to keep moisture in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
When the correct ingredients are used this recipe is 5 stars and very easy. This is very similar to my family recipe, except (as others have noticed) it's missing the most important ingredient MOLASSES. Split the water into two containers, disolve the baking soda in 1/4 cup and disolve 1cup molasses in the other. Mix as per recipe discription. Batter is very liquidy, but cake is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonnyzbabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I make this cake from my mother-in-laws recipe. She is PA Dutch. You really need molasses - use instead of oil. Will taste more like shoo-fly pie. I rated this recipe using molasses not oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This cake was kinda dry, and not molasses tasting like a shoo fly pie has. The recipe didn't have any molasses in it maybe that's why it didn't have the shoo fly pie taste / flavor ? Most of the crumb topping fell to the bottom of the baked cake. Only a little circle in the middle of the cake did the crumbs stay on top of the cake. Maybe i will try again ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARAJOY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe did not taste at all like shoo fly pie....probably because there is no molasses in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
The cake tasted too floury and was somewhat puddingy. My family did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
My mother got this recipe from a friend a long time ago and lost it. I finally found it here and remember it as a child. It's great for breakfast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States