Shoepeg Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I was given this recipe years ago by Beverly Painter of Blue Ridge, GA - who made this for us one night, and I was so excited to find it online here. After reading the other reviewers comments, I used sharp cheddar, 2 cans of green beans, and 4 oz sour cream. Other than that, I made it according to the recipe. This came out of the oven with a nice taste - and raves from my picky family. Thanks for sharing... For next time, I would probably cook the onion, celery, and green bell pepper, prior to mixing the rest of the casserole together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Simple and tasty, what more could you ask?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I make this every Christmas and my family loves it! It is a great alternative to the traditional green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I thought this was really tasty, and easy. It is high in fat, though. I used saltine crackers and low fat sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I ate this at a July 4 barbeque over 10 years ago, and now I make it every year! I think it goes well with summer foods as well. Thanks for the recipe--I just moved and mine is packed away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, Texas, USA
Living In: Clifton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
i love this recipe. my family asks me to make this for every holiday, and it sounded so odd, i needed to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oyster Bay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I got this recipe years ago from the mother of a close friend, and it has been a family favorite ever since. This is the best recipe, not at all bland; however, I do use sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LECHEFRENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This was pretty good, but the veggie amounts listed in the recipie were a bit sparse. I nearly doubled them all and added onions and garlic. I also mixed sliced almonds in to add some texture and used them as the topping. They added a great crunch (not to mention the health benefits) and browned very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I love this! It's easy and very tasty. I don't know why someone said it was bland; it was perfect to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This is a family favorite. I use only 1/2 cup of sour cream and for the topping use crushed cheese crackers mixed with a small bag of slivered blanched almonds mixed into the butter. Watch the salt because the cheese crackers are salty. Also use sharp cheese. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States