Shmunky's Colby Jack Cheddar Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by reborn_2004
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Such an easy recipe, and they came out great. I didn't have any white cheese, so I just used shredded Sharp cheese. I ended up baking 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reborn_2004

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is the best biscuit recipe I've ever tried -- and believe me, I've tried a bunch! I use half cake flour and half bread flour, which make the biscuits lighter and fluffier. I've also played around with various cheeses and herbs with great success. It's an easy and versatile recipe, and quite a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
exactly as described: crispy on the outside, light and fluffy on the inside. delicious. i think mine took close to 15 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made only two small changes and that was using buttermilk instead of 2% milk and I added a teaspoon of garlic powder. Instead of making drop biscuits, I shaped the dough into a round circle and cut the dough into triangles, like scones. Awesome biscuits--very tasty! GREAT with barbeque chicken and pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Turned out very good, especially warm from the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These were awesome! I followed the recipe as directed and they tasted much like those at a certain popular seafood restaurant! They are good as they are and also very good with a little garlic butter brushed on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
These are excellent and easy. I don't like thyme, so I added a 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. My whole family LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LARMIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
We didn't like these at all. They were very chewy, and the insides took longer to cook than the outside, making for a crunchy exterior. And the taste just wasn't quite "right", though I can't put my finger on what I didn't like about it. We won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These were amazing. I did not use herbs and olive oil and substituted honey for the white sugar. When mixing I added half the milk to the dry mixture to minimize clumping when adding the butter. Baked for 15 minutes and they were SO good. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These smelled really great & the texture was fantastic, but they didn't have the really cheesy taste that I was expecting. We will be making them again since they are so easy, but using sharp cheddar instead. Maybe adding a garlic butter on top like suggested by other postings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colstrip, Montana, USA
Living In: East Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States