Shish Tawook Marinated Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I was so excited to see a recipe for this - one of my favorite dishes at Middle Eastern restaurants (which there are none of in my hometown). I was a little skeptical that it would be as good as what I'd had in restaurants in big cities, but it was - the garlic sauce is excellent with it. My husband and 2-year-old daughter loved it too. I only marinated it for 5 hours, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Very yummy, I was surprised! The flavor was much more mellow than I expected, and you can't tell at all that there is ketchup and mustard in it. I didn't have a chance to make the sauce, so I just served with plain yogurt and rice. Might add red pepper next time for some kick. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is excellent! It's very tasty and I never thought I would like something Middle Eastern so much. It's delicious, quick to make, and pretty healthy. A new favorite in my home. Don't let the few number of reviews fool you, honestly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was delicious! What a unique taste. The yogurt sauce makes the whole dish! Even my children enjoyed it, thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Yum. Very good recipie! I would change a couple of things nex time. First- spice the chicken a ton more- add cinnamon, cumin, & corriander (also real garlic instead of powder). Then in the dipping sauce- add more garlic. This is coming from a garlic freak- so you have to take it with a grain of salt :). My husband and I really enjoyed this dish and will continue to make it for years to come. Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I live in the Middle East and I like this recipe as much as I do when I go out! I made it for my whole family as a special Middle Eastern Dinner Night when I went home on vacation and there wasn't one person who disliked it. Even the kids loved it. And we're talking down home southern folks that devoured everything! I added fresh garlic as well, because we love garlic. Served it with hummous, falafels, tabbouleh, fatoosh, pita and fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Be daring and give this a try- it's fabulous. I marinated chicken tenders about 5 hours. It could have been longer. I broiled mine instead of grilling, but I can't wait to grill with it. When grilling,I'll baste with this marinade thinned down with some additional olive oil. Final note: I didn't want to use the mayonaise based sauce shown with this marinade so I made Tzatziki, which is a yogurt and cucumber dressing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Saint Helens, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This is awesome! I use this site all the time and this is the first time I've ever given a recipe five stars. It's quick and easy to make (although you have to plan ahead) and it comes out tasting great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
this was excellent! fun & easy, I put in the curry powder and the spices were just right. I used low-fat mayo in the sauce and it tasted fine. served with salad and pita bread, this is our family's latest chicken favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Kellebrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This is great! I added alot of garlic power (used tbs instead of tsp...oops)and omited the allspice it turned out like a paste and it was great. I only let it sit for 5 hours made kabobs and baked them. Next time I think I will BBQ. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Teriyaki sauce is the key to this delectable marinade for grilled chicken thighs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Chicken Shawarma

See how to make a truly flavorful chicken sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States