Shish Tawook Marinated Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I was so excited to see a recipe for this - one of my favorite dishes at Middle Eastern restaurants (which there are none of in my hometown). I was a little skeptical that it would be as good as what I'd had in restaurants in big cities, but it was - the garlic sauce is excellent with it. My husband and 2-year-old daughter loved it too. I only marinated it for 5 hours, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
this recipe was really tasty! i used mustard powder instead of mustard and a dollop more yogort in the chicken marinade to make up for the lacking liquid. i also added two garlic cloves and a little garlic salt to the dipping sauce...soo tasty.....gotta love that garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is excellent! It's very tasty and I never thought I would like something Middle Eastern so much. It's delicious, quick to make, and pretty healthy. A new favorite in my home. Don't let the few number of reviews fool you, honestly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was delicious! What a unique taste. The yogurt sauce makes the whole dish! Even my children enjoyed it, thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
We had this tonight for dinner, and for me, it was just ok. We liked the dipping sauce, but not the spice on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Yum. Very good recipie! I would change a couple of things nex time. First- spice the chicken a ton more- add cinnamon, cumin, & corriander (also real garlic instead of powder). Then in the dipping sauce- add more garlic. This is coming from a garlic freak- so you have to take it with a grain of salt :). My husband and I really enjoyed this dish and will continue to make it for years to come. Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I live in the Middle East and I like this recipe as much as I do when I go out! I made it for my whole family as a special Middle Eastern Dinner Night when I went home on vacation and there wasn't one person who disliked it. Even the kids loved it. And we're talking down home southern folks that devoured everything! I added fresh garlic as well, because we love garlic. Served it with hummous, falafels, tabbouleh, fatoosh, pita and fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Be daring and give this a try- it's fabulous. I marinated chicken tenders about 5 hours. It could have been longer. I broiled mine instead of grilling, but I can't wait to grill with it. When grilling,I'll baste with this marinade thinned down with some additional olive oil. Final note: I didn't want to use the mayonaise based sauce shown with this marinade so I made Tzatziki, which is a yogurt and cucumber dressing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Saint Helens, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
this was pretty good. I had 5 thighs and used in lieu of breasts. The stated marinade was perfect for 5 good sized thighs...none wasted but plenty to cover liberally. I skinned the thighs and also omitted oil altogether. I omitted the curry powder and keep it more mideast than Indian. Allspice is a commonly used mideast spice and when I got the marinade together(also crushed in 1 clove garlic) the allspice seemed a bit overpowering so added another tbsp. lowfat yogurt. The thighs were tender after marinating overnight and baked up nicely. Served with jasmin rice. I will make again because of ease of prep and ingredients that I always have plenty of on hand. I think next time I would omit the prepared mustard and use lemon juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Pretty good, but if I were to make this again I would certainly use less cinnamon, and probably omit the curry powder altogether (I like them, but just didn't think they worked too well in this recipe). The dipping sauce, however, was outstanding! With some grated cucumber and a little mint, it would make a great Tzatziki sauce. I'll definitely be making the garlic sauce again, but I'm not so sure about the chicken. Oh, I used the George Foreman grill thing for the chicken - it took no time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Teriyaki sauce is the key to this delectable marinade for grilled chicken thighs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Chicken Shawarma

See how to make a truly flavorful chicken sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States