Shish Tawook Marinated Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I thought this recipe was good. I liked the flavor, but I thought it needed salt. I did not marinate it for long enough, only about 20 minutes, since I did not plan far enough in advance. It was a little tough, but I blame that on the short marinade and not the recipe. Thanks for the recipe. Shish tawook is one of my favorite dishes and I have never even thought to make it at home. Next time I will cook it on skewers with mushrooms, onions and green peppers. I am Arabic and it made me giggle to make Arabic food with ketchup and yellow mustard. I served it with Rice A Roni and spinach sauteed with onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKELHOSS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Very tasty! I added the curry and thought the allspice could have been reduced to 1 tsp. Extremely tender after marinating overnight.The dipping sauce was incredible! Very good served with rice or couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
it was really good different from other kinds ive tasted in resturants. i love it and soo easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I was so pleased with this meal. It was simple to prepare and the next night all I had to do was turn on the oven. The only things I did differently were to substitute olive oil for the vegetable oil (and used less) and chopped garlic for the garlic powder... simply because I had those ingredients already. The smell in the house was heavenly! I loved the taste and raved about it to all my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This recipe was so easy and tasted great. I served it with white rice and peas and some naan. I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
The reason I am only giving it 2 stars is that it was bland. I made the recipe exactly the way it was stated. It was good and my husband liked it, but it did not have a kick that I usually like with the tawook. I am going to try the other recipe on this site and then report back. If you search on the internet, there are only a couple of recipes available anywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Nordy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I love how flavorful and moist this chicken is. It's unique but has become a regular dish in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omak, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This is agreat recipe. All the flavours go well together. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I love the recipe. Leftovers do not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1COOKINGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This is a new family favorite. My son who is extremely picky and my daughter who has to eat gluten free both loved this meal. I served it with rice and my son put his chicken, rice, and dipping sauce inside a pita (not gluten free) and made a sandwhich. The only changes I made were to skip the cinnemon and double the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Munro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Teriyaki sauce is the key to this delectable marinade for grilled chicken thighs.

Firehouse Marinated Grilled Chicken & Arugula Sa

Watch the crew of East Naples, Florida, prepare marinated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States