Shish Tawook Marinated Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Pretty yummy. Left out the curry powder and added half teaspoon chilli powder to marinade. Served with Tabouleh, Lebanese bread and hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. We did think the cinnamon was quite strong. Next time I may back off the cinnamon a bit. Loved the sauce, we served the left over sauce with cut up pitas and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Excellent! For garlic lovers only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
this recipe was a tough one to rate. the chicken alone is just average and surprisingly leans toward bland (the only change i made was to double the curry powder). the secret to this dish is the sauce which pairs perfectly with the chicken. it does for the meat what peanut butter does for jelly. another thing i discovered quite by accident is that the sauce is 10x better if served at room temperature. it's fine straight out of the fridge, but takes on a whole new life when it sheds the chill. at room temp, this sauce is a religious experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This recipe is so flavorful! I was in a time crunch and so only marinated the chicken for maybe 20 min. It still turned out really good, but I bet it would be even better if it sat for the stated amount of time. For the dipping sauce I used sour cream in place of the yogurt (as I didn't have any on hand) and it still tasted good, though probably thicker than it should be. I served it with Tahini spinach (this site) Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was outstanding! I was short on time so I only marinated the chicken for ~3hrs - still turned out delicious. I swapped the mustard for lemon juice as someone suggested previously. I served the chicken with pita, sliced tomatoes, and sliced cucumber for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This tastes just like my favorite resturant in town. I love it! The garlic sauce is perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I was searching for something to do with the chicken breasts in my refrigerator and this definately hit the spot! The sauce was delicious, it completed the dish. I served this dish with basmati rice. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela in Germany

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Georgetown, Illinois, USA
Living In: Borken, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This was very easy to make and so convenient to just pull out of the fridge and put into the oven the next day. My fiance loved it, asked for the recipe, and offered to make it again sometime soon. I included the curry without regret. I found this to be a little sweeter than I would prefer...I think I'll add more garlic to the sauce next time to counteract that. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I thought this recipe was good. I liked the flavor, but I thought it needed salt. I did not marinate it for long enough, only about 20 minutes, since I did not plan far enough in advance. It was a little tough, but I blame that on the short marinade and not the recipe. Thanks for the recipe. Shish tawook is one of my favorite dishes and I have never even thought to make it at home. Next time I will cook it on skewers with mushrooms, onions and green peppers. I am Arabic and it made me giggle to make Arabic food with ketchup and yellow mustard. I served it with Rice A Roni and spinach sauteed with onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKELHOSS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Teriyaki sauce is the key to this delectable marinade for grilled chicken thighs.

Firehouse Marinated Grilled Chicken & Arugula Sa

Watch the crew of East Naples, Florida, prepare marinated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States