Shish Tawook Marinated Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I made this almost to the letter except I didn't use Allspice because I didn't have any and I used fat free sour cream instead of the yogurt. Oh, and I added 1/4 teaspoon of paprika to the dipping sauce (as my coworker suggested!) and it turned out great! Next time I make this I will make the dipping sauce when I make the marinade for the chicken so it has more time to develop. It smelled so good cooking and there wasn't a single bite of chicken left! I will also try this with lamb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
My husband and I love this recipe. The first time I made it, I skipped the curry. But the second time I added it and liked it much better. The sauce also helps the taste. UMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Such a weird combination of ingredients. I loved it. The aroma while it was cooking was fabulous. I didn't use the dip, I am not a big fan of mayo, so I made some tzatztiki instead and we really enjoyed the combination. Thanks for the clever recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe. We made Shish Tawook Sandwiches by spreading the garlic sauce over a warm pita, then adding the prepared chicken, along with sliced onions and thin pickle slices (as served in one of our favorite restaurants). Very Good !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
All I can say is wow. The only thing I did different was add a little white pepper and some crushed garlic, being the garlic junkie that I am. I would definitely pass on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Be sure to use deli-style mustard for a stronger flavour; use lemon juice in lieu of it for a thinner, milder sauce. It tastes better with the mustard. Tried this also with the optional curry powder. I don't recommend it; the curry overpowers the other flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I wish I could give this a four and a half. I enjoyed this dish very much. The flavors are a little different from what I would normally cook, but was definitely a welcome change! I don't know that marinating for as long as told is necessary, but I would highly recommend anyone looking for a healthier and different recipe would do well by this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
THIS IS DELICIOUS!!!!!!! I marinated for about 36 hours (life events got in the way- was only going to do it overnight) and did not use the curry (based on other reviews). I almost forgot to make the dipping sauce and I'M SO GLAD I DIDN'T FORGET! The sauce makes the recipe a standout! We ate it over basmati rice but can't wait to try it on naan! I'm sure that's the way to eat this dish. (I was going to whip up some homemade naan, but, again, life got in the way, so we just had it over rice.) This is one I will make again and again and again! It is so easy and DELICIOUS!!!!!!!! Thanks for a great recipe!!!! (This got RAVE reviews from DH too- that's big compliments!!) UPDATE! 6/2/07 Made this again without a long marinade- only about 5 hours- and subbed sour cream for all the yogurt (my yogurt had expired!) and it was delicious! Even my mom- Ms. Picky like no other- said it was great! We made these into 'sandwiches' with naan and it was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
DIPPING SAUCE WAS GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Teriyaki sauce is the key to this delectable marinade for grilled chicken thighs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Chicken Shawarma

See how to make a truly flavorful chicken sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States