Shish Tawook Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
We have many great Middle Eastern/Mediterranean cuisine options in the Dearborn/Detroit area and this recipe tastes exactly like the restaraunts here. Will definitely be using this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Fantastic! Tender and juicy chicken, excellent flavors. Easy to make once you have the ingredients on hand. Making again tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Our local Afghan restaurant has this and I always wondered exactly how it was made. Thanks for this recipe! And thanks to reviewers, I could tailor the spices to taste. After seeing the most helpful reviews, I skipped oregano, added heaping recipe measurements of the other spices except the black pepper. Instead of oregano, I added 1/2 tsp dried mint, pinch of turmeric and shake of cayenne pepper. Marinaded 5 hours, then grilled as directed with red/green peppers and onion. Served with seasoned saffron rice and fresh naan. This will be a regular from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
not was I exspced,,tender chicken yes,,bland yes,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Amazing dish. Packed full of flavor. Everyone raved about it. Will definitely be making this again! Followed the recipe exactly. Didn't change a thing. Marinated for 24 hours. Then plans changed so I put the chicken in the marinade in the freezer. Removed it 48 hours prior to cooking. Was just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I really loved it! I ended the skewers with a baby Bella mushroom, and sauteed the leftover marinade, veggies and little chicken pieces. I baked it at 500 for 20 minutes then broiled the first side for 5 minutes and the other side for 2 minutes. Served it with boxed rice pilaf and green beans so at least some of the dinner would have a familiar flavor. Chicken haters said it was OK, everybody loved the marinade!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sabrina Karam
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Perfect. My husband has Middle Eastern roots so we're always looking for things to cook that pay homage to his family's roots. The garlicky yogurt based marinade is delicious. Cardamom was hard to find, and when I did finally track it down it was fairly pricey. I have made the recipe with and without it and I couldn't taste a difference at all, so skip it if you don't have it on hand. My kids declared this recipe their favorite of the summer so far, so it's going in our rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Karam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Fleming
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I followed the recipe as listed, except I didn't have cardamom. It still turned out terrific. It's a delicious marinade and combination of flavors. My boyfriend also enjoyed it. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Fleming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Thnx for a great recipe!! Absolutely delicious made extra sauce to add to the chicken we loved it just spicy enough for our taste!!!! Made it just as posted perfect!!! Little extra heat would be good next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This was great! I took the suggestion of another reviewer and added more garlic, paprika, turmeric and cayenne. I coated the veggies with the marinade...yum! "This is a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Grilled Chicken Teriyaki

Tender and juicy grilled teriyaki chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States