Shish Tawook Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
EXCELLENT! I just made this for dinner tonight and my husband & I were amazed. We used to order shish tawook all the time at a Lebanese restaurant in our old neighborhood. Now that we've moved, we haven't found a place that serves this so I've experimented with several other recipes and they were all disappointing. But this one is JUST RIGHT!!! Very authentic tasting. I modified it slightly to suit our (spicy) tastes by adding more oregano, a little dried mint, turmeric, and a couple dashes of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aquariusgal
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Although this recipe had fewer reviews than the other shish tawook chicken recipe in allrecipes, i chose to try out this recipe as the ingredts in this recipe appeared more authentic. Im so glad tht i made the right choice - this shish tawook chicken was delicious! It was moist and full of flavour! I added a few more cloves of garlic, reduced the cinnamon to a pinch and added a few dashes or turmeric powder, cayenne pepper and paprika. My family had this for dinner with pita bread ( recipe from allrecipes ) and the dipping sauce ( from the other shish tawook recipe in allrecipes ) This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariusgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was wonderful, delicious and very tender/moist. I did not have the allspice, so that was omitted. This recipe is SO MUCH better than another from this site, which claims to be authentic, yet uses katchup and mustard. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is really good! I wasn't sure the weight of the chicken I was using. I did use 3 really large chicken breasts and got 7 sticks. Cardamom is not easy to find, and it is expensive, so I found on-line that a subtitute is equal parts of cinnamon and nutmeg and used that. I also do not care for black pepper so I did not add it. For the onions I went with red onions as it didn't specify. I was busy all day and they marinated a total of 10 hours. Normally over marinating chicken can cause a bitter taste, but it didn't at all. I don't have access to a grill so I broiled them in the house. I set the rack two down from the top and set the broiler to high. I lined a pan with tall sides with foil and broiled half of them at a time. For my oven it was 8 minutes, then I flipped it for 5 minutes, then one more flip for 2 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful. My husband and I both really love shish tawook chicken and it was great to find a good authentic recipe. I left out the tomato paste but it still tasted just like our favorite middle eastern restaurant. It's especially good if you use the Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce (see recipe on this site) with it and wrap the chicken in a warm pita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
You know you're in for some out-of-this-world grilled chicken when your mouth starts to water just from the wonderful aromas wafting from a closed grill -- this has to be one of the most fragrant chicken recipes I've ever made. I followed the marinade precisely, subbing crushed whole green cardamom pods for the ground. But instead of boneless chicken, I chose bone-in chicken (minus the skin) which I scored to allow the thick marinade to permeate the meat in an overnight soak. Because I used a larger cut of chicken, I grilled low and slow to prevent burning or charring... and it was so worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I just made this AGAIN. This is really so good. This really tastes like you are eating food from a Mediterranean or Lebanese restaurant. I cannot stress enough....MAKE THIS TAWOOK...it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Nordy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Delicious! I make this at least once a week. I use butterflied chicken breast and grill it as is (I'm too lazy for skewers). Not only is it easy, but you can keep it in the marinade if your dinner plans change and the flavor gets better! Hubby and I eat it with rice and with hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Absolutely delicious. We ate it with brown rice and spinach, and I cooked it under the broiler. It would probably be even better outside on the grill, as the recipe states. For lunch the next day, we ate the leftovers in pitas with homemade hummus. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I LOVE shish tawook. I get it all the time at a restaurant near me. If I could eat it everyday, I would! Either in salad form, sandwich form or just by itself, it's wonderful! Thanks for posting this, I will definitely have to try it at home now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States