Shish Tawook Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
wonderful flavors! I personally love the flavor of allspice, so I might bump that up next time:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNRAY9177

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This recipe is unbelievably delicious. My kids LOVE this and are always looking for the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Seriously tasty stuff. I lived in the Middle East 8 years and this is what I would typically order at local food eateries. Highly recommend. Used 1/2 Tablespoon fresh Oregano for the the dried the recipe called for taste was SUPER. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimchi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I made this for my family it tastes sooooooo good they loved it sooooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My local kebab shop does amazing marinated chicken and I didn't know what it was. This recipe is the closest I've found. Tender and juicy grilled, even better over coals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This recipe is wonderful! My husband is from the middle east and he told me it was amazing and tasted authentic! I served it with rice cook with chicken stock instead of water. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Most authentic I've tasted yet! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orangebluetime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
You know you're in for some out-of-this-world grilled chicken when your mouth starts to water just from the wonderful aromas wafting from a closed grill -- this has to be one of the most fragrant chicken recipes I've ever made. I followed the marinade precisely, subbing crushed whole green cardamom pods for the ground. But instead of boneless chicken, I chose bone-in chicken (minus the skin) which I scored to allow the thick marinade to permeate the meat in an overnight soak. Because I used a larger cut of chicken, I grilled low and slow to prevent burning or charring... and it was so worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is really good! I wasn't sure the weight of the chicken I was using. I did use 3 really large chicken breasts and got 7 sticks. Cardamom is not easy to find, and it is expensive, so I found on-line that a subtitute is equal parts of cinnamon and nutmeg and used that. I also do not care for black pepper so I did not add it. For the onions I went with red onions as it didn't specify. I was busy all day and they marinated a total of 10 hours. Normally over marinating chicken can cause a bitter taste, but it didn't at all. I don't have access to a grill so I broiled them in the house. I set the rack two down from the top and set the broiler to high. I lined a pan with tall sides with foil and broiled half of them at a time. For my oven it was 8 minutes, then I flipped it for 5 minutes, then one more flip for 2 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious! We live in Chicago and have a Middle Eastern restaurant that we adore, so I thought I'd try to make a variation of their chicken kabobs. It turned out almost identical! I always wondered what gave it that unique flavor.. It's definitely the cinnamon and allspice! Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Grilled Chicken Teriyaki

Tender and juicy grilled teriyaki chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States