Shish Tawook Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My local kebab shop does amazing marinated chicken and I didn't know what it was. This recipe is the closest I've found. Tender and juicy grilled, even better over coals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This recipe is wonderful! My husband is from the middle east and he told me it was amazing and tasted authentic! I served it with rice cook with chicken stock instead of water. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Most authentic I've tasted yet! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orangebluetime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
You know you're in for some out-of-this-world grilled chicken when your mouth starts to water just from the wonderful aromas wafting from a closed grill -- this has to be one of the most fragrant chicken recipes I've ever made. I followed the marinade precisely, subbing crushed whole green cardamom pods for the ground. But instead of boneless chicken, I chose bone-in chicken (minus the skin) which I scored to allow the thick marinade to permeate the meat in an overnight soak. Because I used a larger cut of chicken, I grilled low and slow to prevent burning or charring... and it was so worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is really good! I wasn't sure the weight of the chicken I was using. I did use 3 really large chicken breasts and got 7 sticks. Cardamom is not easy to find, and it is expensive, so I found on-line that a subtitute is equal parts of cinnamon and nutmeg and used that. I also do not care for black pepper so I did not add it. For the onions I went with red onions as it didn't specify. I was busy all day and they marinated a total of 10 hours. Normally over marinating chicken can cause a bitter taste, but it didn't at all. I don't have access to a grill so I broiled them in the house. I set the rack two down from the top and set the broiler to high. I lined a pan with tall sides with foil and broiled half of them at a time. For my oven it was 8 minutes, then I flipped it for 5 minutes, then one more flip for 2 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious! We live in Chicago and have a Middle Eastern restaurant that we adore, so I thought I'd try to make a variation of their chicken kabobs. It turned out almost identical! I always wondered what gave it that unique flavor.. It's definitely the cinnamon and allspice! Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
my husband is lebanese and loved this dish- said it was perfect. I omitted the cardamom and added a scant teaspoon of sumac and marinated the chicken overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
So easy to make and absolutely delicious! I used my All-Clad grill pan (my favorite piece of cookware) since it was still snowing outside. The best is the charred pieces of marinade in the pan. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
OMG this recipe is the BOMB! Made it last night and now eating the few leftovers. Cardamon is expensive, cost me $10 but it was worth it to be able to make these kabobs at home. Followed the recipe to a T except for adding a little mint, cayenne, and turmeric; chicken was very tender, it does make a lot of sauce so next time I will just add more chicken. Served this with Tabbouleh III, Hummus III, and the Lebanese Garlic Sauce from this site. Had an awesome meal! No more need to drive 20 miles to the Lebanese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I had eaten something similar at a local Lebanese restaurant and wanted to copy it, and this recipe was perfect! The chicken is SO flavorful, it's amazing! All three of my somewhat picky kids *loved* it, and it was really quick to put together the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Grilled Chicken Teriyaki

Tender and juicy grilled teriyaki chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States