Shish Tawook Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Excellent. It tastes like the "real" thing! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I've made this recipe several times now, and it's always delicious - very authentic and easy! In the winter, I just broiled the chicken, mushrooms, peppers, and onions in a glass pan in the oven with the sauce, and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitmore Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
We really liked this. Although we generally like spicy food, the mild flavors of this marinade were delicious. I don't know that I'd identify it as "shish tawook" with my eyes closed, but it's definitely a make-again dish. We didn't have allspice, but otherwise I followed the recipe pretty closely. Really good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is the best chicken kabob recipe you'll ever find. It's perfect the way it is-- no need to alter a thing. My husband is a very picky Syrian who is used to the best Middle Eastern dishes (his mother is an old-fashioned arab kitchen whiz), and this is tops in his opinion. Serve it with Toum (the kind that's simply made by blending garlic cloves with drizzles of olive oil and dashes of salt-- there is one on this site if you don't have a Middle Eastern grocer who carries it fresh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
excellent recipe. Simple but yet very flavourful. grilled it in my green egg, WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sadieswain
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Really easy and really delicious! We LOVED it! We followed the recipe, but didn't have allspice or cardamom, so used a little ginger, coriander, and cumin instead of those. Also added a little cayenne, will probably add even more next time! We also made a little bit additional marinade and set it aside to use as a sauce of the rice we ate with it. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Really good flavored marinade. We marinated overnight, and it was quite a strong flavoring on the chicken. If you wanted a more subtle flavor, perhaps closer to the four hour minimum recommended by the recipe would be good. I didn't make any changes, except no parsley and I used what I wanted to for kabob veggies (rainbow peppers, purple onion and yellow onion). Really got great reviews from all the party-goers. This also qualifies as gluten free for my MIL who has celiac. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fast_as_I_can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Exceptionally moist and flavorful grilled chicken! I prepared the marinade as published, but after tasting found it a tad too sour. I added some garlic powder in addition to the minced (we like garlicky!) and another teaspoon of tomato paste. Perfect! Served with salad & naan. Loved this dish, Noor, thanks for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This was very good. I marinated closer to 8 hours, because of my schedule, and the meat was very tender and flavorful. This is an unusual combination of flavors for us. It was my first experience with cardamom, a very pungent and resin-y aromatic. My only change to the ingredients was to use olive oil in place of the vegetable oil. This fills the bill for change-of-pace dining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This stuff is soo good! I haven't had a good grilled chicken breast in awhile. I made as is (so unusual of me) and it came out so moist and flavorful. I love the lemon taste. The only change I would make is to cube them smaller. My child doesn't like too much of the lemon taste so add more tomato paste. Thank you Noor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States