Shish Tawook Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
My family loved this chicken, especially my husband. We are not familiar with Arabic food but wanted to try something different. I enjoyed the flavors and it was quite tender. I made this as directed except for the cardamom (when I went to purchase some I saw it is expensive.) With such a small amount called for, I didn't think it would be a huge issue. I plan on trying this at a local Middle Eastern restaurant to compare to the "real thing."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
One of the families favorites ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Fantastic. Though I do marinate chicken for 3 to 5 days. Made it many times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This is amazing. I'm from the Middle East originally and after making this recipe I gotta say I was impressed. I used chicken thighs with skin on because they stay juicy & tender after grilling usually. Try this recipe and it will be a favorite. One last thing... Get cardamom, it's worth buying some just for this recipe because you'll be making this one a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Delicious! Didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
My family loves this so much. I don't always use every ingredient (I've left out tomato, coriander..) but it's always so flavorful. Just delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I feel terrible, but we just didn't care for this ... so sorry, but thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I had no yoghurt so I did use sour cream instead & only marinated the chicken for a few hours but it was still very tender & full of flavor. No cardamon in the kitchen so I subbed coriander. A very, very delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Really good! I cooked it on the stove top and added some chicken broth base for added flavor. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I've never had or heard of this chicken but it was unbelievable! I've made it twice in the past week. The first time I made it I only marinated for 4 hours and used chicken cubes in a grill basket. The second time I made it, I doubled the batch and cut up chicken strips and marinated for 24 hrs. SOOO delicious! The longer it sits, the better it is. Even after it cooks, the chicken does not dry out when reheated and the flavors are even more wonderful the next day. Neither time did I make kabobs with the onion and pepper. It's a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Grilled Chicken Teriyaki

Tender and juicy grilled teriyaki chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States