Shish Tawook Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
OMG this recipe is the BOMB! Made it last night and now eating the few leftovers. Cardamon is expensive, cost me $10 but it was worth it to be able to make these kabobs at home. Followed the recipe to a T except for adding a little mint, cayenne, and turmeric; chicken was very tender, it does make a lot of sauce so next time I will just add more chicken. Served this with Tabbouleh III, Hummus III, and the Lebanese Garlic Sauce from this site. Had an awesome meal! No more need to drive 20 miles to the Lebanese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I had eaten something similar at a local Lebanese restaurant and wanted to copy it, and this recipe was perfect! The chicken is SO flavorful, it's amazing! All three of my somewhat picky kids *loved* it, and it was really quick to put together the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Delicious! Didn't change a thing. Next time I might add more garlic. Only marinated for 4 hours - would like to marinate longer if I have the time next time. My guy loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was exactely like our favorite Mediterranean restaurant. I tripled the sauce recipe to marinate the vegetables and add to the completed meal with rice. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hicksville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was fantastic! We also served these with the yogurt dipping sauce, and ate sandwich style with pitas (also added diced tomatoes). What a light and refreshing meal - we will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is great marinade for chicken. It is missing something though, I am of arab decent, and i have had this many times in arab countries, and it doesn't taste quite the same, but pretty darn close. I think I would add a little more salt, and some chilli powder. Otherwise great recipe....thanks a bunch, chicken was soooo tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is a really great marinade! The chicken tastes just like what we get at our local Lebanese restaurant. I absolutely crave it sometimes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I should've rated this sooner because it's been in my recpe box forever and is one of my staples!! My husband is Lebanese and he raves over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahGrace
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This chicken was really good! I only marinated for about two hours (that was all the time I had), skipped the tomato paste and allspice because I didn't have any. I sauteed the chicken in a pan and omitted the onion and green pepper because I wasn't making kebabs. This went well with hummus, lentil soup, pita bread, and fattoush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Clinton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I really enjoyed this marinade. I made it as directed but my execution on the indoor grillpan failed and I blame that on my self. The meat never carmelized or browned and I am not sure if that is because of poor cooking on my part or that the marinade ingredients interfered with browning. I used Tzatziki Sauce I from this site with it, and took the meat and veggies off the sticks and wrapped them in store bought naan with the sauce and butter lettuce leaves. I served cucumber slices on the side instead of chips or fries and they really worked. This was a garlicky meal so just remember that two garlics cancel each other out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Grilled Chicken Teriyaki

Tender and juicy grilled teriyaki chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States