Shirazi Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I rather add verjuice than lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This recipe needed alot of tweeking. For starters, true Shirazi Salad has mint and parsley. Red onion gives it the truer flavor and as a personal preference I use a clove of fresh garlic and fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I am a big fan of shirazi salad and accompany it with almost anything! This recipe is missing the parsley and mint. I prefer lime juice since it's a bit more tangy than lemon and feel 1 tablespoon is simply not enough. 1 or 2 limes would be best and please, please, please use red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Hi In Iran, we make it in summer time. for better taste, add some olive oil and black pepper. some grounded dried mint leaves can make it better too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by run away cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I always order Shirazi salad whenever I go to any Persian restaurant, and some times I make it my self . the recipe is good but it needs mint and parsley to be authentic . I love adding black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
omit mint! could be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is good and pretty quick to make especially when there isn't any lettuce in the house. It has a very fresh taste. I made 1/2 the recipe and still got nearly the same amount of servings. I think an unpeeled English cucumber and a red onion would work best, but the recipe as is works fine to if made right before eating. I found that it does not refridgerate well at all, as the lemon juice will turn it sour after sitting too long, so I would only make the amount that can be eaten in one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
served this a few weeks ago with 'Lamb Shawarma' from this site, and they were both great. i love simple, clean recipes like this; the fact that it's both delicious on its own AND easy to customize to your own tastes makes it five-star worthy, nothing less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
There were a couple of things I knew wouldn’t appeal to me in this recipe so I took the liberty of making a few modifications. I decided for the purpose of what I intended this salad for that it would be easier to eat, and prettier to boot, if it wasn't all chopped up. I used fresh crisp baby cucumbers, sliced, and tiny grape tomatoes. Since I’m having dinner guests tonight and not familiar with their tastes, I played it safe and left out the onion. Finally, with just salt and a little lemon juice, I knew this would be rather flat and lifeless in my view. I had some homemade lemon-dill vinaigrette left over which worked ideally with the addition of even more dill. The salad now is delicious - light, fresh and nicely enhanced with the dill, lemon juice, olive oil, salt, pepper and Dijon mustard in the vinaigrette. I’m sure my guests will love it. I suppose my alterations effectively changed the authenticity of this salad (one I’m not familiar with) but I was quite pleased to use the recipe as a base reference for my own tweaks. As is, however, I can’t rate it any more than average, as it lacks any real character or flavor distinction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
So refreshing and healthy!!!! It was well worth all the effort of dicing and chopping. Took other viewers advice and added dill, mint, parsley, red pepper and used the red onion. Next time I am going to try the Japanese Rice Wine, but to me the flavor was out of this world even using the lemon juice. With all the compliments I got, I felt like taking a bow...but really SABUYUKCAN and all the helpful reviewers ought to be the ones to do it!!! Thanks so much for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States