Shipwreck Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I followed the recipe as written the first time, except I precooked the onions and potatoes and cooked it on low on the stove top about 50 minutes instead of using the crock-pot. It was really good, a hearty dish for my husband and grandson working outside on this cool October day. It is a basic, family dish that is quick and easy. I will definitely make it again. I do agree it needs some spices, but that is a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Good recipe for a hearty stew. I added diced jalepeno for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I thought this was very tasty indeed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Just got finished making this. I did tweak it a little. My additions are: canned corn,sliced baby carrots,canned green beans, half of fresh jalapeno, chili beans in can,half-cup brown rice. Instead of cream of tomato soup I used 16 oz. can of tomato sauce. Then of course spices. I usually do not measure, I just put some in. I added: cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes, black pepper, salt, garlic salt,basil flakes,cumin, chili powder. Nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was kind of plain even with the taco seasoning and garlic added. Probably would not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Actually, when I posted this I forgot one ingredient. Chopped Celery! Sorry about that! DebCroff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This recipe has been one of our family favorites, since my Great Aunt made it for us years ago. Easy to make, and the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This came out dry, I ended up having to add tomato juice and water to it to make it more like a stew. It also needed salt and pepper. My family also said that it had too many potatoes. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This smelled great cooking in the crock pot. It was a little bland - I think next time I'll add more seasoning, perhaps to the beef. I used red potatoes and also added a can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
My ex-mother inlaw makes this and to date I have not been able to make it as good. She use stewing beef and 1 can of el pato tomato sauce. The el pato kicks it up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSHay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States