Ship Island Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This recipe was delish! Instead of using canned shrimp, I purchased some fresh shrimp and sauteed them in a little butter, salt and pepper and then diced them up and threw them in..so much better than the ordinary can...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Go ahead and add the whole packet of Italian seasoning. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
I usually don't look at the "simple" recipes, but this one is GREAT! I did "cheat" and used fresh shrimp...I also tossed in some fresh crabmeat that was available (now) in my store's seafood section. The dip was fabulous. Try serving it with little Belgium Endive leaves on the side (along with crackers) for a light and healthy appetizer, as well as some celery sticks for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This is really quick! I used a pound of fresh shrimp, chopped coarsly instead of the canned shrimp. My husband could not get enough of it! Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving, I heard a couple of people say it was good. I will probably make it again if requested. I did use fresh shrimp but I think the italian dressing took something out of the shrimp taste I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Very easy and had a lot of flavor. I made this for my son's birthday party and everyone loved it. Living in South Louisiana, I was able to buy fresh boiled shrimped at the store. The spices from the shrimp and the Italian dressing mix worked so good together. I plan on making this for another party this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
This is so quick & easy and tastes as if you stayed in the kitchen for hours. A real crowd pleaser, too! Diane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Wadford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
was ok. I followed recipe exactly and was too bland for my taste. I added about a tablespoon of old bay and some extra salt and pepper to give a little more flavor. Thank you tho; love to try new recipes, whether I care for them when they are done, or not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong. This wasn't very good to me, but my family said it would've been fine without the shrimp and served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I was expecting a stronger shrimp flavor. The italian seasoning flavor overpowers the shrimp flavor. The dip is good, it just doesn't taste a whole lot like shrimp (I even doubled the shrimp after a taste test).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States