Shiny Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
As this recipe's first reviewer I can happily report that no cookie icing gets the job done any easier, quicker or better than this. It's bright and glossy, and doesn't thicken so fast that you have to rush to get your cookies glazed. Other than having to add more milk than called for (certainly no biggie) this was just what I was after. I also appreciated that there no flavorings in the ingredients, something each cook can do on his/her own if they choose. For me, I liked the neutral flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This turned out very well. It tasted wonderful and really set up great on the cookie. It also had nice enough consistency that my 5-year-old daughter could put it on the cookies without much effort. Will definitely be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by E C Kelly
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Easy, easy, easy!!! Exactly what I wanted for my gingerbread men, and I can see many uses for more cookies throughout the year. I did not have corn syrup, so I substituted it with glucose syrup, and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Excellent! I would suggest taking a small portion of the colored icing and adding a drop more sugar to thicken. Use this mini batch with a small cake tip to outline your cookies or decorations first. Let the outline dry and then follow as written. This keeps the icing in the lines and avoids drips like the one in the photo. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Countess
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I made Christmas cookies with these and the icing hardened nicely. I was out of light corn syrup so I made a simple syrup out of sugar and water. I used 1/4 cup of sugar and 1 tablespoon of water, brought it to a boil over medium heat and simmered for 5 minutes on low heat. I used an electric mixer to mix everything together, then separated into 2 batches and added coloring to one and left one white for the snowmen. My icing didn't come out super white because I used brown turbinado sugar instead of white sugar and I added vanilla extract, which also made it darker, but it still looked white enough. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was perfect!! I used whipping cream instead of milk. Was just the recipie is wanted. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Fabulous...easy to color...needed a little extra milk but will be my go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This icing is perfect! It made my cookies look and taste perfect for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andi.love.84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I cut the recipe in 4 because I only needed a small amount of icing but then had to add about double the milk or more because it was way to thick and powdery still... But dried nice and glassy and hard fairly quickly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
By far the BEST from scratch cookie icing. Ive tried tons of recipes and this one was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zales127

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States