Shiny Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Great quick easy recipe. I added vanilla because I love it, but I will definitely keep this recipe in my favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wintermom
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Perfect for my gingerbread snowflake cutout cookies. I had to add double the milk, but no biggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RECIPEFAN1
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Really good, exactly what I wanted for my daughters birthday cookies! Like a few other reviewers, I needed to add more milk to get a smoother consistency; without the added milk it was too dry. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Sammie's Cook
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Like other reviewers said, it needed more milk. I'm not sure how much more, since I just kept adding it until it reached the consistency I liked. Maybe it's supposed to be 4 tablespoons of milk? After I fixed it, it turned out great. In piping bags, it was easy for my 3,6, and 8 years old to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie's Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CarlaB
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
oh yes - this is perfect! I divided the frosting into three bowls after mixing and in one I put lemon extract and another got orange extract (just a teaspoon or so). So I had regular, lemon and orange flavored sugar cookies in the end. My kids loved loved them and I am now on my second double batch of the holiday season. I did add a little more milk but I think it's just a question of consistency when frosting. One batch was thinner but it got hard and shiny all the same. I didn't mess with using a brush or anything to frost the cookies - just spooned the frosting on top. Yeah, it got a little runny but it was all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarlaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
By far the BEST from scratch cookie icing. Ive tried tons of recipes and this one was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zales127

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I cut the recipe in 4 because I only needed a small amount of icing but then had to add about double the milk or more because it was way to thick and powdery still... But dried nice and glassy and hard fairly quickly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This icing is perfect! It made my cookies look and taste perfect for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andi.love.84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Fabulous...easy to color...needed a little extra milk but will be my go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was perfect!! I used whipping cream instead of milk. Was just the recipie is wanted. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States