Shiny Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Did not like this AT ALL! Tasted like powdered sugar and milk. Also, like other people, had to add more milk. I added vanilla extract. It was shiny though. Thanks for your recipe. Just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Topped my Blueberry Turnovers with this recipe. I made 12 servings and had to double the milk and corn syrup. Some recipes for icing have too much liquids to begin with. I like this recipe because it's simple and adding extra liquids to desired consistency wasn't a big hassle (especially if you planned on flavoring it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I liked this icing. I used water instead of milk. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EXPATNAT
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Super easy to throw together! I added extra milk as well, as well as 1/2 tsp of Almond extract for a little hint of something extra. Lovely sheen and set nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great simple recipe. I had to play with the ingredients to make the frosting smooth enough to frost my cookies. I substituted skim milk for the water and used about 2 tablespoons more. Using a mixer on low helped combine the ingredients better than spoon stirring. Frosting held on to assorted sprinkles and jimmies well and it gets really pretty and shiny as it hardens on the cookies. This is very sweet and can be spread thin and still hold apparels. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whipitup

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth Henderson
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
It dried pretty quick and taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Henderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This icing recipe is amazing. It's closer to transparent than most icing, which makes whatever you are frosting aesthetically pleasing. The icing is thin, but not so thin that it slides off the cookies. It solidifies quickly. I used this recipe for Blue Ribbon Sugar Cookies, which is also available at the allrecipes website. The volume of this recipe is small, so if you have a bigger job, make sure to adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by lizzo84
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This will be a new go-to recipe for me. I generally find decorating cookies to be tedious work, but if I'm going to do it (which I do, every Christmas), then this is a really easy icing to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I added a little more milk than the recipe called for. Probably around 5 or 6 teaspoons and it was fabulous! The icing hardens nicely and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I'm obsessed with this recipe! It does need a bit more milk, but other than that it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiley Hanje

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States