Shiny Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This stuff is very thin, it runs right of the cake and is about the same as oil. I did not like it and will never make it again, there's far too much butter in it, when you taste it you can not even taste the chocolate, only butter, and i used 1 an half ounces of chocolate. I did not care for the taste, and it's far too thin, i know its a glaze, and it do cover well but you can see the cake right through it. The only reason i made this in the first place is because it was liked to the Petit Fours page, and it's awful for them. I did not care for this recipe. I'm highly disappointed. I'm hoping I'll be able to save it by making a different one and pouring it on top of it, it really do not want to throw out the filled cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! This was so easy to make. I took a reviews advice and made it in the microwave. It was perfect on my chocolate cake. everyone thought it was much better than chocolate frosting. I will definitely use this on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Perfect glaze!! Delicious! As other folks suggested I used honey in place of the corn syrup, and it was just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duryea, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Easy and delicious. I used honey since I didn't have corn syrup. First time I made it I poured it over the cake while still warm. I had some left over which I refrigerated in a plastic container. Next morning I opened the container to find my glaze had turned into a scrumptious frosting. I will never buy store frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by globetrotter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Perfect. Just what I needed for my son's birthday cake. NOTE: I used 8 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips, semi-sweet, and it worked perfectly. You don't have to have a fancy double-boiler. I just did what Grandma taught me and fit a bowl over a small saucepan. Wa-la, instant double boiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
use a microwave!! put all ingredients in a glass measuring cup and microwave for 15 seconds, stir, then another 15 seconds, and stir, until smooth. It was a little thick for my preference so I added a few TBS of hot strong coffee to thin it out (have used rum too!) and it was perfect. will use this 283928908 more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belladonna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Well, wasn't that easy! Quick to make and tasty to eat. I wish my final product had a little more shine to it, but nevertheless, a great go-to recipe. I probably need to experiment with different brands of chocolate and perhaps the quantity of corn syrup. Maybe someone out there has ideas on how to make this a pinch more shiny...? I'm all ears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy926

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
excellent and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
pretty simple, does make alot I used 1/2 for cupcakes. Great find, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Very good! Especially on donuts. Sets up perfectly. Perfect consistency and the taste was great. This would be great on a bundt cake too. My kids loved it. I used 8 oz of semisweet chocolate chips instead of the bittersweet chocolate squares. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States