Shiitake Mushroom and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I do not like mushrooms but we keep getting them in our weekly CSA and I am sick of them going to waste. I found this recipe thinking, if I don't like it my husband will surely eat it all for dinner and leftovers. I loved this recipe. Tastes as good or better than any cheese soup recipe I have ever had. I sliced the shiitakes really thin. I used a whole yellow onion and threw in half a bunch of sliced swiss chard (w/ stems) as I had some to use up. I omitted the sage due to a lack of it and used 2 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of milk in lieu of the beef broth. Prior to adding the liquids, I added three tablespoons of flour and browned everything together. I increased the amount of cheese to adjust for the increase in onion, addition of swiss chard. I served it in bowls topped with chopped green onion. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I used this recipe and halved it all except the sage (cause I love sage) and the bacon (cause seriously have you ever heard anyone say "it would have been good if it weren't for all that pesky bacon"?) It is supposta be a soup but I just added a bit of flour and cornstarch to thicken it up then served it over egg noodles, though rice would have been good too. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This recipe was delicious. I didn't have the bacon so I did leave that out. I used 2 different kinds of fresh mushrooms and instead of using milk and broth I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup with 4 cans of water. Recipes for me are always a "suggestion" so I used what was on hand and it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I love this soup, I make it all the time and even my son who hates mushrooms loves it. I do mix chicken and beef broth for extra goodness, and peppered bacon add to it. Making it today actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Definitely a keeper! Cant think of anything i'd change...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
delicious soup! i don't like sage so i left that out, but it was excellent anyway. i ran out of shiitake mushrooms once and i used mun mushrooms (i think in the US they are called Jelly Ear mushrooms), and i think i actually like it more than with the shiitake. my favorite way of eating this soup is with udon noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Delicious! Prepared as written, just decreased the quantities a little since it was just for me. Very earthy and comforting. Perhaps a splash of beer would be a nice addition?! Will try next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I must be too used to Velveeta having grown up with it. I obviously don't know how to stir in cheddar. Mine must have curdled, it was just a big stuck together blob. The soup was still good & flavorful even after taking the cheese blob out. I did have to use regular button mushrooms, it's all I had. I also subbed fresh oregano & thyme for the fresh sage. Subbed a bit of beer for the beef broth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
The flavor is spectacular. I would have done the cheddar differently. It clumped together and fell to the bottom. The next time, I will make a white sauce with butter and flour cooked, milk added then cheddar. Add that to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Really great and easy to make soup. I omitted the sage as I didn't feel it meshed well with the flavor profiles of the mushrooms and bacon. My only suggestion would be to drain most of the fat off the bacon before adding the mushrooms. I substituded the cheddar cheese with Weight Watchers Shredded Mexican Blend. Worked great and makes the meal 3 points per serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States