Shiitake and Baby Bella Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
My first time making risotto solo and it came out perfectly! Mine took quite a bit longer than etimated, and used more liquid, but I made it in a deep skillet rather than a saucepan, which may have affected the speed of evaporation/absorbtion...I don't know. Anyway, I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because I followed it exactly (which includes the 'as needed' and 'until' parts of the recipe) and it worked like a charm. Risotto is not at all hard to make, but it is certainly boring and time consuming - so it probably won't happen often at my house, but was definitely worth trying. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Great recipe. You will have to stir this for a good 20 minutes but like was mentioned, it is well worth it. I added a clove of garlic to sautee at the beginning and then added 2 bay leaves to the warm vegetable stock. My family loved it. I will use this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyBeeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This was soooo good! I will definetely make this one again. I made no changes to this recipe, it's perfect! Thanx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Much too salty for our taste, even leaving out the celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: East Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I have never eaten risotto before, much more cooked it. It was FABULOUS! My only slight variation was I couldn't find whole Parmesan to grate, so I used the shredded type; it melted right in. Also, when I cooked the shallots on medium high, they burned right away -- so I started over and cooked everything down a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Kology
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This came out GREAT! I only used the baby bellas because that was available. If you have any reservations about trying to make risotto, try this receipe--it's easy and the results are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nenah B
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This recipe is almost perfect. It was my 2nd time making risotto and the last time I made way too much. I cut the recipe and I still ended up with a lot of left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nenah B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe is very good. I used canned vegetable stock. I found it to be a little salty so next time I will not add the celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Thanks for your recipe. I make risotto at least once a week and use leftover risotto to make little fried rice patties for lunch the next day. Here are some of my tips for making any risotto. Always use low sodium broths for risotto and keep the broth at a low simmer in a saucepan when adding it to the rice whilst cooking. Cook the risotto in a heavy bottomed Dutch oven or similar pan, it will hold the heat better and reduce total cooking/stirring time. The butter is a nice touch but adds little flavor to the risotto, I'd omit it and reduce the fat content of the dish. This is a great dish to start young cooks in the kitchen. Under supervision, get the kids to stir the rice during the cooking. Kids involved in food preparation tend to eat more new things at an earlier age. Thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was my first time making risotto it was alot of work and I didn't find it to be all that great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deiders

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Lake, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States