Shieldzini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This cucumber salad was delicious! I left the seeds in, and sprinkled the salad with carrot peels and sesame seeds (like the picture). It was a big hit at the party I brought it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I followed the advice of some other reviews and left out the sugar, I also added sesame oil instead of vegetable oil and sprinkled it with sesame seeds for a get together. It did not go over so well. My husband said the soy sauce was very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this last week, but am just getting around to reviewing it. I read the reviews and decided to leave out the extra salt as suggested. Soy sauce is plenty salty, so that is a very good idea. I also used low-sodium soy sauce. I made 1/3 of a recipe and used an unpeeled English style cucumber. I still got 3 servings. I could see how this could go well with a Japanese dish. The calorie count is very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was really good, went well with the asian lettuce wraps I served. The soy and sesame were nice additions. I used sesame oil instead of the vegetable oil and won't use quite so much next time, the sesame flavor was a bit strong. So either half and half or leave the sesame oil out all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Made this the other night to accompany a German dish. Go figure! It fit perfectly and everyone enjoyed it. My son even asked if he could take the leftovers home to munch on that night. Does not hold over to the next day, so finish it with the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I really enjoyed this. So outside my comfort zone with cucumbers, but a welcome, refreshing and delicious way to change 'em up. Four stars as written only because I was unsure of the salt when there was already a fair amount of soy sauce. I decided to play it safe, omitted it, and I was glad I did. The other small criticism was that this was missing eye appeal. Herbs did not seem right to garnish it so I sprinkled it with toasted sesame seeds and finely julienned carrots. It made all the difference in the world, both in taste as well as presentation. This was a happy find - perfect when I was struggling to come up with a side dish for an Asian-inpspired meal. In preparing this I used Splenda in place of the sugar, and grapeseed oil rather than vegetable oil. Way to make a cucumber interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Pretty good! I used about 1/2 the soy sauce but tried to keep the rest about the same (I eyeballed everything). A nice little tang to punch up plain cucumbers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I thought this recipe was excellent! I did not use the salt because I didn't feel it needed it with they soy sauce but other than that, this had the perfect blend. This was so simple yet packed full of flavor and had such a nice light crunch to it. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I am on a pre-wedding diet and have been needing a way to make my vegetables more appealing. I modified the recipe slightly by adding a little less soy sauce. I also grated some fresh ginger, added pink and white pepper, substituted Stevia instead of sugar, a sprinkle of sesame seeds, and added a small amount of strawberries pureed with agar-agar, which gave it more color and some additional flavor & substance. I really enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I use slightly less sugar and add strips of sushi nori and some crab stick (cut a few sticks to taste in half and separate the strands, then scatter over cucumbers before adding dressing). Learned the recipe from a Chinese friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trepto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States