Shiela's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
very good, even a few days later and I loved the touch of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This recipe is so yummy! All of my friends have asked for it! I love the hint of lemon, and even added a bit more in the icing for extra flavour. These didn't last long in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
this recipe was good but it took more than a hour and 15min. and they were not very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Okay, so to be clear, I am an experienced baker of breads, cookies, brownies and all things yummy. I do it at least twice or three times a month, so I know my way around a cookie recipe. I followed this one to the letter, and they have yet to be finished. First, this cookie dough is waaaay too soft and sticky to be rolled immediately after making. As it stands, it needs to be refrigerated at least overnight... mine's in the freezer at the moment to firm it up because I don't have 12 hours before the party I hope to serve them at. As for the taste.. well, the dough is delicious. So, for all those hoping to make them for an event, keep in mind they should be made the day before and chilled to keep them from being too sticky to use. Another option, which I may try today, is to roll them out between two sheets of waxed paper. Good luck to everyone else, but so far this one is bust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
They were ok... but they weren't drop down dead. I would pick another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Too floury, not very lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This cookie is sooo good, the first time I made this, I made it with 2 other recipes from here and EVERYONE chose this one as the best one. I have been making it ever since and get great reviews from it. It works great in a cookie bouquet, I have even had someone tell me that these were better than the Cookie by design cookies ( I think so too). I haven't tried the frosting recipe though because I already have a special frosting I use but these cookies are to die for. One thing to keep in mind when making these cookies is using the right amount of flour. If you use your flour after you have fluffed it up then it won't be enough, but if you pack it in the cup it will be too much, put just enough into your measuring cup. Thank You so much for these fantastic cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I chose this recipe for 2 reasons. 1) the use of both shortening and butter along with both white and confectioners sugar was intriguing. 2) the name of the recipe was my name too! I REALLY liked these sugar cookies. I made them with vanilla instead of lemon juice because I wasn't looking for a lemon flavor for Christmas cookies. They were very yummy, even without icing. Or should I say, especially without icing. I found them to be a dense cookie instead of what folks might call light, which I really liked. They had a good crunch and wonderful flavor. When baked, they held the cookie shape very well. I made the dough early to fit my schedule and put it in the fridge for several hours only because I wasn't ready to cut and cook when I prepared the dough. I found that it took warming the dough by simply playing with it a little bit before I could easily roll it for cutting. I will make these again and again and for no special occasion. Although Santa will be getting them from now on!! I look forward to trying the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
The cookies are fine..but the dough took forever!!..and it was so hard to roll...i had to use my hands..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This recipe is like the one I had many years ago. I use butter instead of margarine. I have also used almond extract for a change of pace. I never or almost never make shaped cookies so the softness of the dough is not a problem. I do however us an ice cream scoop to place them on the cookie sheet, a flat bottom glass which has been dipped in a sugar and cinnamon mixture to flatten out the cookie to my desired thickness and size. I have refrig my dough between batches to keep the dough from becoming too soft. These cookies could best be described as a butter cookie (not overly sweet without the icing) and an addictive one at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States