Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
If you are searching for recipes for this type of chowder, STOP RIGHT HERE. Just reading the recipe with a "chef's eye" you can tell this is far superior to the other ones posted on this site. i don't give out many 5 star ratings, but this is most definitely one of them. i was searching for a crab/corn chowder recipe because my husband and i enjoy Bonefish Grill's version so much, but it is pricey - $6.50 for a bowl. I searched the internet for a bonefish grill copycat chowder recipe, no luck. Came on reliable all recipes, and I was just hoping this chowder would taste good, as it seemed like it would - but it tasted IDENTICAL to bonefish grills (if you are the author reading this, please take this as a compliment!) The changes I made were as follows: omitted celery and the shrimp (personal preference). no clarified butter - didnt have time - just used a regular tablespoon of butter, worked fine. Cajun seasoning instead of Creole (I'm sure its next to the same thing). and canned golden corn and canned jumbo lump crab instead of fresh. It was, ABSOLUTELY PERFECT. Try this, I promise you won't be disappointed. (unless you don't like spicy - it does pack a little heat! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Normally I try to stay true to the original person’s recipe unless the masses have agreed to some changes but I had to re-work this recipe for 3 reasons. #1. Everybody who is eating my chowder agreed that the Bonefish grill was WAY too spicey (in ALL their dishes, not just the chowder). I’m a spice light-weight, and my wife is a total spice wuss so I just couldn’t make it as-is based on the other reviews. #2. I don’t have the alcohol required in my house (I’m more of a Jim Beam kinda guy) and it’s Sunday in PA and I can’t buy it. I don’t think I’ll bother next time either since it doesn’t call for much so I would be wasting it. #3. Corn is now out of season and the only small shrimp I liked at the market was cooked/pieces so I went for it – and crab around here sucks right now. So here is the Spice Wuss/Alcohol Free/Out of Season Variation: I replaced the cayenne with double the amount of Old Bay and dropped Creole seasoning completely. I replaced the white wine with pure motts apple juice and the brandy with apple cider vinegar. I used a 1 lb bag of frozen white corn/yellow corn mix partly thawed in the fridge. Since my shrimp was cooked I left it out until the potatoes were cooked then tossed them in and let it come back up to a simmer then added the crab meat (which was canned chicken of the sea premium crab meat..all real crab). I then left the whole thing on the stove on warm until dinner time (about an hour) so by then everything was a perfect temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This recipe is superb! Like the 1st reviewer, I was looking to duplicate Bonefish Grill's chowder and I am very happy with the results! I omitted he cayenne pepper since I didn't have any- the creole seasoning added just enough heat. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great recipe! There is a little local eatery here on the Outer Banks that has the best corn and crab chowder that we've ever eaten. This recipe may be better! If you want to carry it to the next level, add sea scallops and clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Prep time is way more than 35 minutes, however well worth it. This recipe filled a large crockpot. I made the soup and let it cook on low all day in the crockpot. After letting it sit in the fridge all night, I let it cook one more day on low until we enjoyed it that evening. I think soups are much better after they have had time to marinate. Instead of small size shrimp, I used petite shrimp for salad or shrimp salad. This soup is delicious and definately worth making. I am from Maryland and love cream of crab soup. This is a lot more than just corn and crab soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Used two cans crab meat instead of fresh and ham instead of bacon. Very good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
So... this recipe isn't cheap to make if you follow exactly and the prep time is way off (takes twice as long). I'm sorry but I really wanted to rate this well based on the previous reviews. I have been to Anthony's and Duke's (fine seafood restaurants) and they have had a corn, crab and bourbon bisque that is to die for and is very similar to each other. I have been searching and thought this recipe was similar. I followed this recipe EXACTLY and it ended up VERY bland. I didn't want to waste so much money with the crab, shrimp, etc. that I ended up going back to the store just to liven it up. I added more shrimp, creole, brandy, wine and even after all that, it still seemed bland that I put in a tablespoon of vanilla. After all that, it only tasted fair. I'm sorry but this is not worth the time and money (at least for me). :( I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is my 1st recipe review... but I just had to! We have a monthly soup and salad group so I am always on the lookout for great soup recipes. When I served it the other night, all the gals said that it could never be topped. All the guys asked for seconds. My husband, the Chowder Connoisseur, who has ordered chowder in every city we have ever vacationed at, said it was the best he ever tasted. I did reduce the cayenne pepper for him though. hubby doesn't do hot. AND, I completely forgot to put in the bacon, which I did fry, but I'm a Senior- what can I say. After cooking the bacon crisp, I sauteed the veggies in the bacon fat- I really think that was enough of the "fat". but, next time, I will definitely add the bacon. This is one of the best soup recipes I have ever come across. Thanks Sheryl! Next time, I will put in the bacon, but not the grease... I think it is enough if you just saute the veggies in the reserved bacon fat. Then
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This soup was excellent. I followed the directions exactly. My three year old who never eats soup loved it so much that he asked for it for dinner three nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Wow! Better than any restaurant chowder I've had. I was a little intimidated by the recipe, but it was written so well that it was very easy to follow. Would also be great with smoked salmon. Awesome - I will continue making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States