Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This chowder is a crowd pleaser! Typically, by the time I have finished cooking something, I am already tired of it, but I could eat this chowder at every meal. I served it as an appetizer at a party recently and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is the best Chowder recipe on this site! However, the roux took more like 30 minutes instead of 10 so be sure to give yourself plenty of time to make this. I used smoked salmon instead of crab and shirmp. Since it's already cooked, I just added it in at the end. I also omitted the bacon, bell pepper, brandy, cayenne pepper and creole seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jondra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This is the best chowder recipe I've ever had, including restaurant chowder! I don't usually leave reviews on Allrecipes, but this chowder was so good that I felt it would be a shame not to let everyone know that my family and I absolutely loved it. Thanks for sharing this exceptional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
OMG!,Followed recipe except used fresh herbs. Not too spicy for us Texans. If you like Cajun, it could use a little more cayenne or go heavy on the Creole. Gotta find out where BoneFish Grill is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kilgore, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was fantastic! It was more work than I anticipated but well worth it. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is my 1st recipe review... but I just had to! We have a monthly soup and salad group so I am always on the lookout for great soup recipes. When I served it the other night, all the gals said that it could never be topped. All the guys asked for seconds. My husband, the Chowder Connoisseur, who has ordered chowder in every city we have ever vacationed at, said it was the best he ever tasted. I did reduce the cayenne pepper for him though. hubby doesn't do hot. AND, I completely forgot to put in the bacon, which I did fry, but I'm a Senior- what can I say. After cooking the bacon crisp, I sauteed the veggies in the bacon fat- I really think that was enough of the "fat". but, next time, I will definitely add the bacon. This is one of the best soup recipes I have ever come across. Thanks Sheryl! Next time, I will put in the bacon, but not the grease... I think it is enough if you just saute the veggies in the reserved bacon fat. Then
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This soup was excellent. I followed the directions exactly. My three year old who never eats soup loved it so much that he asked for it for dinner three nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Easy, delicious. Look no further. Prep time less than 35 minutes for me. Can reduce stock and make up with 4 small tins of chopped clams and their juice (leave out shrimp). Have muslim friend so left out the bacon - still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Used two cans crab meat instead of fresh and ham instead of bacon. Very good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very good! I used a red pepper just for better color and I would add a little more shrimp and some parsley. Didn't feel it was too spicy, just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States