Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Oh my goodness..this soup was very very good..I'm still full this morning. My boyfriend was craving corn chowder and I'm so glad I settled on this recipe.. It was time consuming, but well worth it. I used cream, but then substituted milk for the half & half - it was creamy, luscious and we both agreed it was definitely restaurant quality! Thanks Sheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Awesome! Used salad shrimp and added with the crab. A meal with frech bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I'm going to make this for a ladies get together. I'd like to make it the day before, let it marinate and reheat. Can anyone tell me how it holds up the next day. I just want to make sure it doesn't separate or look funky. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was one of the best corn chowders I have ever eaten. It may seem like a lot of ingredients, but it is worth it. I omitted the flour, and the soup still thickened nicely. It even freezes well, except the shrimp become a bit mushy after reheating. As I write this, I am eating the soup that has been frozen 3 months, and it still tastes fresh and full of flavor. Perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This soup is amazing! Even better than Bonefish's. I cut out quite a bit of the fat and it still held up really well and stayed creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was great. But very very time consuming!!! And sooooo many ingredients. I followed everything to the T. Except I used the advice of another member and instead of the butter I used Evaporated Milk to cut back on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie0469
Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
WOW!!!!! This is definitely no ordinary recipe. Best chowder I've ever had.......actually.....one of the best things I've ever eaten! I did not have brandy so I substituted it with a little extra white wine. I also doubled the creole seasoning- I like things spicy. Absolutely AMAZING. However, there was a TON leftover after my husband, three kids, and I ate. Next time I make this it will be for a bigger group of people. Thanks for sharing this! I will definitely be coming back to this recipe again and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Amazingly delicious even without the fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Tried this for the first time last night and my family LOVED it! Couldn't keep them out of the kitchen and even my teenagers were trying to eat it out of the pot before I could serve it! Excellent renditon of BFG recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This chowder is a crowd pleaser! Typically, by the time I have finished cooking something, I am already tired of it, but I could eat this chowder at every meal. I served it as an appetizer at a party recently and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States