Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Felt like I was sitting at an oceanside restaurant!!! I, and everyone else with whom I shared it with, loved it. This is one to add to your recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This soup is fantastic! Had company for dinner and serve this in sourdough bread bowls The only changes I made were..added extra of all the veggies and shrimp. Used red pepper instead of green and didn't peel the potatoes ,added a few dashes of red pepper flakes just because we like things spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
If you are looking for a thick, chunky chowder-like soup, this is not it. This is a very thin soup and is not that great for the time and money put into it. Bland and tastes like fattening half-and-half. Sorry! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
THE VERY BEST!!!! I have made this several times for family and friends and EVERYBODY loves it!! It freezes well!! When you make it..double it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Excellent and easy directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I have never given a review...But after cooking this soup I had to share thatit was by far the best chowder I have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this for my family last night and it was a disappointment. Sorry, but it really ended up tasting like straight cream with a little spice. My husband and I went back to double-check we added everything and we did. The crab wasn't cheap and it took a lot longer to make than expected. We ended up pouring it down the drain. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
So... this recipe isn't cheap to make if you follow exactly and the prep time is way off (takes twice as long). I'm sorry but I really wanted to rate this well based on the previous reviews. I have been to Anthony's and Duke's (fine seafood restaurants) and they have had a corn, crab and bourbon bisque that is to die for and is very similar to each other. I have been searching and thought this recipe was similar. I followed this recipe EXACTLY and it ended up VERY bland. I didn't want to waste so much money with the crab, shrimp, etc. that I ended up going back to the store just to liven it up. I added more shrimp, creole, brandy, wine and even after all that, it still seemed bland that I put in a tablespoon of vanilla. After all that, it only tasted fair. I'm sorry but this is not worth the time and money (at least for me). :( I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Amazing. Followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of the brandy - didn't have any and didn't want to buy a whole bottle just for 1 teaspoon. Makes enough to feed a crowd, though, so you might want to add cream just to the portion you're going to use that day, and freeze the rest of the base (adding cream when you reheat it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight and the whole family loved it. I'd like to eat it every week, but it has to be a once a year calorie splurge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States