Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Absolutely amazing and a dish that will keep on giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Wow. This chowder is awesome!!! I made a few changes based on personal preferences and availability, but followed the recipe for the most part. I used regular butter, not clarified, upped the amounts of onion, celery, garlic and used red bell pepper instead of green because it's prettier. I will use even more red bell pepper next time. I used fewer potatoes than called for, and will use even fewer next time. (Maybe I had huge potatoes.) I used frozen white corn kernels and subbed sea scallops for shrimp because I prefer them, and used the canned jumbo lump crab meat because fresh was WAY too expensive. I also threw in some canned clams because I love clams. The end result was eye-rollingly good, and it's a good thing, too, because we will have to eat this every meal for days... it definitely makes enough for a crowd. I should have halved the recipe for just the two of us- I wasn't thinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I have to say, I really didn't follow this recipe that closely. I was looking for something to do with some leftover corn on the cob and some cooked shrimp that I didn't want to go bad. I love soup, so this chowder was the inspiration for mine. I don't really like to measure things and somine was more of a it says white wine and that looks pretty close...I think the best thing about a soup recipe is that you start with the basics and then add the things you like or take away the things you don't like/don't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATESJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This recipe is delish!!. I'm getting ready to make it for the 2nd time. Taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This soup was absolutely decadent! I usually don't write reviews but this was so worth it! The prep work took a tad longer than expected but overall it wasn't a very complicated dish! I left out the brandy since we didn't have any and I did not see a point in buying a whole bottle just to use 1 tablespoon. I also used 3 cans of lump crab mean instead of fresh because I couldn't find any! Even with the changes the chowder was absolutely divine! If I could give more stars I would :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
It's a yummy one, and boy oh boy does it make alot! Yes, it is alot of work but it makes it worth it since and I can freeze it up and I can have it easier in the future. Also, I don't know how it happend, but it seems like it makes about 15 servings rather than 10. Also, during this recipe, I used 3 cans of crab meat. I think in future I would perfer 4 cans. I also think I will mash the potatoes just slightly in the future for a better texture aswell. I also added more of each spice to taste. I think kicking it up a bit makes it a top notch chowder soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
HOLY !@#$#$#$@# This was to die for! Unbelievable spice and warmth. I will always come back to this recipe. Its the best I've ever had. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Fab! used black pepper and it was tooo much. Minor adjustment and wonderful flavors. Did not use any alcohol, or cajun spice. Just old bay seasoning. We also did not add the whole milk. Just used the broth and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Felt like I was sitting at an oceanside restaurant!!! I, and everyone else with whom I shared it with, loved it. This is one to add to your recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This soup is fantastic! Had company for dinner and serve this in sourdough bread bowls The only changes I made were..added extra of all the veggies and shrimp. Used red pepper instead of green and didn't peel the potatoes ,added a few dashes of red pepper flakes just because we like things spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States