Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
My husband and I made this last weekend and it was great! We used frozen, left-over seafood - cooked crab and shrimp. We didn't shop to make this - we used what we had on hand and made some adjustments to accommodate our groceries. The recipe still held up strong in spite of the substitutions I made and we thoroughly enjoyed making it and eating it. This is a family-sized recipe. We'll likely half the recipe the next time we make it. If you're craving Cream of Crab or Clam Chowder, give this a try - you won't regret it. It is a wonderful dish and we loved eating it with just saltines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NellieSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
An awesome Crab Chowder. I have Made this for parties in the past and it is always a big hit. I aways add a bit of old bay at the end, according to taste. Also don't bother using super lump crab meat for this, the claw or regular lump is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I have never wrote a review for any recipe. I am so proud of this Great recipe, flavors are all over the place! I changed very little: I did not have white wine, I used frozen corn, the crab meat I used was left overs from New Years Eve so I boiled the shells and paws with some fresh vegatables to make a broth to subsitute the Chicken Broth. This is in my top 10 box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe, very flavorful. However, the next time I make this, I will reduce the amount of thyme by half. My dried thyme was a little overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Awesome. Go no further. I gained two pounds just tasting it, but is was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Absolutely amazing and a dish that will keep on giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Wow. This chowder is awesome!!! I made a few changes based on personal preferences and availability, but followed the recipe for the most part. I used regular butter, not clarified, upped the amounts of onion, celery, garlic and used red bell pepper instead of green because it's prettier. I will use even more red bell pepper next time. I used fewer potatoes than called for, and will use even fewer next time. (Maybe I had huge potatoes.) I used frozen white corn kernels and subbed sea scallops for shrimp because I prefer them, and used the canned jumbo lump crab meat because fresh was WAY too expensive. I also threw in some canned clams because I love clams. The end result was eye-rollingly good, and it's a good thing, too, because we will have to eat this every meal for days... it definitely makes enough for a crowd. I should have halved the recipe for just the two of us- I wasn't thinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I have to say, I really didn't follow this recipe that closely. I was looking for something to do with some leftover corn on the cob and some cooked shrimp that I didn't want to go bad. I love soup, so this chowder was the inspiration for mine. I don't really like to measure things and somine was more of a it says white wine and that looks pretty close...I think the best thing about a soup recipe is that you start with the basics and then add the things you like or take away the things you don't like/don't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATESJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This recipe is delish!!. I'm getting ready to make it for the 2nd time. Taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This soup was absolutely decadent! I usually don't write reviews but this was so worth it! The prep work took a tad longer than expected but overall it wasn't a very complicated dish! I left out the brandy since we didn't have any and I did not see a point in buying a whole bottle just to use 1 tablespoon. I also used 3 cans of lump crab mean instead of fresh because I couldn't find any! Even with the changes the chowder was absolutely divine! If I could give more stars I would :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States