Sheryl's Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I made this recipe using very small potatoes because that was all that I had. I sliced the potatoes thinner than in the first picture, and sprinkled them with salt, pepper, a no salt seasoning blend, a little seasoning salt, onion powder and garlic powder and then drizzled them with butter. I baked them 10 minutes less than the recipe called for because they were so small. After baking them for 40 minutes, I took t hem from the oven and sprinkled them with parmesan cheese only because I was out of cheddar cheese and baked them again for another 10 minutes. They were very good but I only wish that the seasonings, butter and cheese had gotten more into the cracks because the inside of the potato was lacking flavor. I will make this recipe again and next time try to fan the potatoes out more maybe by cutting them a little deeper so that the butter, cheese and spices can get inside of the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Really good alternative to a traditional baked potato, my kids (and I) loved dipping it into ranch dressing and BBQ sauce! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nataloo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Delicious! I added parsley, thyme, garlic powder and a little season salt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Good recipe, except the timing took WAY longer than advertised. Total cook time for 1 large potato was about 1.5 hours, maybe more. Screwed up my dinner timing. I would suggest slicing the potato very thinly, like a few of the photos indicate, instead of the thick slices shown in the first photo. But yes, when it was finally done, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
My favorite potatoes! The suggestion about putting a wooden spoon handle on the cutting board in front on the potato and slicing down until you hit the spoon is a great tip. It works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crzynina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Using evoo instead of butter was my only change and my S.O. really enjoyed these potatoes. thank you Sheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
We thought these were great as written. Slightly crispy peels and tender seasoned potato with great presentation. Next time, I will change my seasoning blend I used (McCormick Salt-Free Herb & Garlic), though. It was too garlicy (no fault of the recipe, of course) and we would have preferred not such a strong garlic taste. Timing was spot on for medium-large potatoes (all about the same size). But I agree with the reviewer who used EVOO *AND* butter, as the butter began to burn. I will watch closely if pototoes are on the larger size. Will make these often, trying various seasonings, & with the EVOO AND Butter mix. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was really a good hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Atkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
It turned out very good... I cooked it about 25 mins in the oven added onion and garlic, then cooked about 30 mins. Finished it off in the microwave because the onion and garlic started to burn, then melted the cheese and added more butter. Loved it!!! I need to tweak it a little bit more because I am at a high alt. but I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States